Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

*Rescheduled* Philipp Schott Book Launch

Wednesday May 15 2024 7:00 pm, Winnipeg, Grant Park in the Atrium, Streaming on YouTube
NOTE: This event has already taken place. Please visit this page to see our upcoming events.

Please note that the launch of Philipp Schott's Eleven Huskies: A Dr. Bannerman Vet Mystery (ECW Press) has been moved to Wednesday May 29.

See:

Eleven Huskies

- Philipp Schott

Trade paperback $24.95
Reader Reward Price: $22.46



Peter Bannerman, veterinarian and amateur detective, deserves a summer vacation. Peter and his family head to a remote fishing lodge in northern Manitoba for a canoeing trip with his champion sniffer dog, Pippin. But a series of incidents color their plans. The lodge's sled team of huskies has been poisoned and, at the same time, a floatplane crashes into the lake, killing the pilot and both passengers. While Peter works to save the huskies, it is discovered that the plane crash wasn't an accident. It was murder.

It's been a hot and dry summer, and one morning the Bannerman family wakes up to find a forest fire spreading quickly. They manage to dodge the conflagration, making it back to the lodge before it becomes cut off from the outside world. Peter soon figures out that the murderer, who probably also poisoned the huskies, must be among the other guests or staff trapped with them at the lodge. The power fails. The now-enormous fire draws nearer. Can Peter discover the culprit in time?

Fifty-Four Pigs

- Philipp Schott

Trade paperback $22.95
Reader Reward Price: $20.66



NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"Original, well-constructed, with a cast of interesting characters." -- Ian Hamilton, author of the Ava Lee series

"A delicious read." -- Iona Whishaw, author of the Lane Winslow mystery series

"A charming mystery." -- Publishers Weekly

A swine barn explodes near a lakeside town, putting veterinarian Dr. Peter Bannerman on a collision course with murder and a startling conspiracy.

Peter is an odd duck, obsessed with logic and measurable facts, an obsession he puts to good use in his veterinary practice. When a murder is connected to the swine barn explosion and his friend Tom becomes the prime suspect, Peter feels compelled to put his reasoning skills, and his dog Pippin's remarkable nose, to use to help clear him.

The situation darkens with a second murder and a series of break-ins, including at Peter's house and clinic, but Peter has a hard time knowing when he is out of his depth, despite warnings from his brother-in-law Kevin, an RCMP officer.

Ultimately Peter finds himself out in the middle of a frozen lake during a blizzard, fighting for his life and confronting a horrifying realization he had been blind to all along.

Six Ostriches

- Philipp Schott

Trade paperback $24.95
Reader Reward Price: $22.46



"Combines the soothing sleuthing of Murder, She Wrote with the humble charm of All Creatures Great and Small." -- Publishers Weekly STARRED review

For readers of The Thursday Murder Club comes a lighthearted mystery with an incredible sense of place

It's springtime in rural Manitoba, and the snow has finally left the exotic animal farm when an ostrich finds and swallows a shiny object. (Because this is what ostriches do.) Cue veterinarian and amateur sleuth Dr. Peter Bannerman, who surgically removes the object, which looks like an ancient Viking artifact. Soon after, people around are horrified by a series of animal mutilations. This sets Peter, and his talented sniffer dog, Pippin, on the hunt for answers. Peter begins to suspect a link between the Viking artifact, the mutilations, and a shadowy group of white supremacists on the internet.

Before long Peter and Pippin are in over their heads, and the only way for them to get out alive will be to unmask the mastermind before they end up among their victims.