Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Remind Me

Anne Lazurko Hybrid Book Launch

Tuesday May 10 2022 7:00 pm, Saskatoon, Travel Alcove + Streaming

Join author Anne Lazurko for the launch of her novel What Is Written on the Tongue (ECW Press). Anne will be joined by her sister, Saskatoon singer-songwriter Wilma Groenen, to discuss the book and their travels together across Java Indonesia which were part of Anne’s research for the novel. A book signing will follow.

The launch will be hosted live in the Travel Alcove of McNally Robinson Booksellers, Saskatoon and also available as a simultaneous YouTube stream with live chat. Before arriving, please review details of how to attend physical events here at the store.

Released from Nazi forced labour as WWII ends, twenty-year old Samuel Vandenberg is quickly drafted and sent to the island of Java to help regain control of the East Indies colony. The story of one young man’s journey from being occupied to holding the gun, from having an enemy to becoming one.

Anne Lazurko’s first novel, Dollybird, won the WILLA Award for Historical Fiction. She has short fiction and poetry published in literary magazines and anthologies and is an active teacher, editor, and mentor in the prairie writing community. An award-winning journalist and no-awards farmer, she lives near Weyburn, Saskatchewan.

See:

What Is Written on the Tongue

- by Anne Lazurko

Trade paperback $24.95 - Add to Cart
Reader Reward Price: $22.46

For readers of Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See and Tim O'Brien's The Things They Carried, a transportive historical novel about finding morality in the throes of war and colonization Released from Nazi forced labor as World War II ends, 20-year-old Sam is quickly drafted and sent to the island of Java to help regain control of the colony. But the Indonesian independence movement is far ahead of the Dutch, and Sam is thrown into a guerilla war, his loyalties challenged when his squad commits atrocities reminiscent of those he suffered at the hands of the Nazis. Sam falls in love with both Sari and the beautiful island she calls home, but as he loses friends to sniper fire and jungle malady, he also loses sight of what he wants most -- to be a good man.