Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Remind Me

An Evening with Dr. Barbara Natterson-Horowitz and Kathryn Bowers

Thursday Aug 21 2014 7:00 pm, Saskatoon, Travel Alcove Event type: reading, signing

Speaking and Signing Zoobiquity: The Astonishing Connection Between Human and Animal Health. Co-Presented by the Western College of Veterinary Medicine, University of Saskatchewan.

Do animals overeat? Get breast cancer? Have fainting spells? Inspired by an eye-opening consultation at the Los Angeles Zoo, which revealed that a monkey experienced the same symptoms of heart failure as her human patients, cardiologist Barbara Natterson-Horowitz embarked upon a project that would reshape how she practiced medicine. Beginning with the above questions, she began informally researching every affliction that she encountered in humans to learn whether it happened with animals, too. And usually, it did: dinosaurs suffered from brain cancer, koalas can catch chlamydia, reindeer seek narcotic escape in hallucinogenic mushrooms, stallions self-mutilate, and gorillas experience clinical depression. Natterson-Horowitz and science writer Kathryn Bowers have dubbed this pan-species approach to medicine zoobiquity. Here, they present a revelatory understanding of what animals can teach us about the human body and mind, exploring how animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and heal patients of all species.

Barbara Natterson-Horowitz, M.D., is a Professor of Medicine in the Division of Cardiology at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. In addition to patient care, she is actively involved with medical education and research. Dr. Natterson-Horowitz holds a professorship in the UCLA Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and is Co-Director of the Evolutionary Medicine Program at UCLA. She serves as a cardiovascular consultant to the Los Angeles Zoo as a member of its Medical Advisory Board and is Chair of the Zoobiquity Conference, a national educational program that facilitates interdisciplinary discussions between physicians, veterinarians and others in the health professions.

Kathryn Bowers is a Fellow at the New America Foundation in Washington, D.C. She began her career in journalism as a staff editor of the Atlantic Monthly and a writer/producer for CNN-International in London. Kathryn later served as an assistant media liaison at the United States Embassy in Moscow, where she received a State Department Meritorious Honor Award for her service. She’s taught writing at UCLA and is currently an associate editor of Zócalo Public Square, an Ideas Exchange based in Los Angeles.

Zoobiquity was named Discover Magazine’s Best Book of 2012, The China Times Best Foreign Translation of 2013, and a Finalist in the American Association for the Advancement of Science Excellence in Science Books 2012.

Photo credit: Joanna Brooks

See:

Zoobiquity

- by Barbara N Horowitz, Kathryn Bowers

Trade paperback $19.95 - Add to Cart
Reader Reward Price: $17.96

Engaging science writing that bravely approaches a new frontier in medical science and offers a whole new way of looking at the deep kinship between animals and human beings.
 
Zoobiquity: a species-spanning approach to medicine bringing doctors and veterinarians together to improve the health of all species and their habitats. In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, this is a remarkable narrative science book arguing that animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients. Through case studies of various species--human and animal kind alike--the authors reveal that a cross-species approach to medicine makes us not only better able to treat psychological and medical conditions but helps us understand our deep connection to other species with whom we share much more than just a planet.
 
This revelatory book reaches across many disciplines--evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine and zoology--providing fascinating insights into the connection between animals and humans and what animals can teach us about the human body and mind.