Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Saskatchewan Book Awards 2021 winners

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2021 at 4:15pm

The winners of the 2021 Saskatchewan Book Awards were announced this week. These awards, which recognize and celebrate excellence and diversity in Saskatchewan writing and publishing, are presented in fourteen categories.

A full list of this year's winners can be found after the jump. Congratulations to all of them!

To see a virtual gala celebrating the winners and to get more information  about the Saskatchewan Book Awards, please visit their website.


Ministry of Culture, Recreation, and Sport First Book Award
The Burden of Gravity (Caitlin Press) by Shannon McConnell.

Ann and Roger Phillips Foundation Prix du livre français
Junk City (la nouvelle plume) by David Baudemont.

University of Saskatchewan, Non-Fiction Award
A Radiant Life: The Honourable Sylvia Fedoruk (University of Regina  Press) by Merle Massie.

SK Arts Poetry Award Honouring Anne Szumigalski
Field Notes for the Self (University of Regina Press) by Randy Lundy.

University of Regina Faculty of Arts/University of Saskatchewan College of Arts and Science Jennifer Welsh Scholarly Writing Award
The Red Road and Other Narratives of the Dakota Sioux (University of Nebraska Press) by Samuel Mniyo and Robert Goodvoice, edited by Daniel M. Beveridge.

City of Saskatoon/Saskatoon Public Library Saskatoon Award
Small Reckonings (Burton House Books) by Karin Melberg Schwier.

City of Regina Regina Award
The Diamond House (Harper Collins) by Dianne Warren.

Rasmussen & Co. Indigenous Peoples’ Writing Award
The Narrows of Fear (Inanna) by Carol Rose GoldenEagle.

G. Murray and Edna Forbes Foundation Young Adult Award
Qaqavii (Red Deer Press) by Miriam Körner.

Fiction Award
If Sylvie Had Nine Lives (Freehand Books) by Leona Theis.

Regina Public Library Book of the Year Award Honouring Mary Sutherland
Field Notes for the Self (University of Regina Press) by Randy Lundy.


Creative Saskatchewan Publishing Award
University of Regina Press for Genocidal Love: A Life After Residential School by Bevann Fox.

SaskBooks Publishing in Education Award
University of Regina Press for Nakón-i'a wo!: Beginning Nakoda Vincent Collette (ed) with Armand McArthur and Wilma Kennedy.

Saskatoon Public Library Indigenous Peoples’ Publishing Award
University of Regina Press for Cry Wolf: Inquest into the True Nature of a Predator by Harold Johnson.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Prairie Writing, Canadian Lit

More articles from books