Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations
• Canadian International Bookstore Day is coming up on April 24th! See details »

We Speak in Storms by Natalie Lund (from a Two Thumbs Up reviewer)

Saturday, Mar 14, 2020 at 1:12pm

It's been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens -- a whole generation of Mercerites -- dead in its wake. So when another tornado touches down in the exact same spot on the anniversary of this small-town tragedy, the town is shaken. For Brenna Ortiz, Joshua Calloway, and Callie Keller, the apprehension is more than just a feeling. Though they seem to share nothing more than a struggle to belong, the teens' paths continue to intersect, bringing them together when they least expect it, and perhaps, when they need it most. Both the living and the dead have secrets and unresolved problems, but they may be able to find peace and move forward--if only they work together.

We Speak In Storms is an amazing book about the struggles of fitting in in the small and somewhat haunted Mercer, Illinois. This amazing book is something that I recommend for anyone who likes reading since it is approximately 450 pages long!

-Philopateer, a Two Thumbs Up reviewer

Categories: Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Two Thumbs Up

More articles from teens

See:

We Speak in Storms

- by Natalie Lund

Young adult hardcover $23.99 - Add to Cart
Reader Reward Price: $21.59

A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

It's been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens -- a whole generation of Mercerites -- dead in its wake. So when another tornado touches down in the exact same spot on the anniversary of this small-town tragedy, the town is shaken. For Brenna Ortiz, Joshua Calloway, and Callie Keller, the apprehension is more than just a feeling. Though they seem to share nothing more than a struggle to belong, the teens' paths continue to intersect, bringing them together when they least expect it, and perhaps, when they need it most. Both the living and the dead have secrets and unresolved problems, but they may be able to find peace and move forward--if only they work together.

A beautifully told, haunting yet hopeful novel about pushing past the pain, facing the world, and finding yourself.

Praise for We Speak in Storms:

"A hauntingly atmospheric coming-of-age story . . . with fully realized characters, an empowering message, and a highly satisfying conclusion." --SLJ

"A lingering, quietly paced story about the echoes of trauma and the persistence of hope." --Booklist

"This suspenseful novel . . . immediately grabs the reader's attention . . . [Readers] will be eager to find out what happens next." --SLC