Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations
• Canadian International Bookstore Day is coming up on April 24th! See details »

Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen The Body under the Piano by Marthe Jocelyn, Isabelle Follath (from a Two Thumbs Up reviewer)

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 11:39am

Aggie Morton lives in a small town on the coast of England in 1902. Adventurous and imaginative but deeply shy, Aggie hasn't got much to do since the death of her beloved father . . . until the fateful day when she crosses paths with twelve-year-old Belgian immigrant Hector Perot and discovers a dead body on the floor of the Mermaid Dance Room! As the number of suspects grows and the murder threatens to tear the town apart, Aggie and her new friend will need every tool at their disposal -- including their insatiable curiosity, deductive skills and not a little help from their friends -- to solve the case before Aggie's beloved dance instructor is charged with a crime Aggie is sure she didn't commit.

Imagine if famous mystery author Agatha Christie and her detective character Hercule Poirot got together as twelve year olds and discovered a dead body that is Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen. I liked Aggie because she was well developed and funny. Hector Perot was also a good character, he acted like Hercule Poirot and was also funny. There is only a bit of romance and only between the adults which I think is good because the main characters are only twelve. The murdered body was described a bit gruesomely but the book is still suitable for younger readers. This book was written in first person which I like because it makes you feel more involved. It also had good plot twists that made me feel excited and curious. The ending was believable but could have been more satisfying. If you like The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency series than you will probably like this book. I give this book 3.75/5 stars.

Categories: Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Two Thumbs Up Kids

More articles from kids

See:

Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen

- by Marthe Jocelyn

Children's hardcover $18.99 - Add to Cart
Reader Reward Price: $17.09

A smart and charming middle-grade mystery series starring young detective Aggie Morton and her friend Hector, inspired by the imagined life of Agatha Christie as a child and her most popular creation, Hercule Poirot. For fans of Lemony Snicket and Enola Holmes.

Aggie Morton lives in a small town on the coast of England in 1902. Adventurous and imaginative but deeply shy, Aggie hasn't got much to do since the death of her beloved father . . . until the fateful day when she crosses paths with twelve-year-old Belgian immigrant Hector Perot and discovers a dead body on the floor of the Mermaid Dance Room! As the number of suspects grows and the murder threatens to tear the town apart, Aggie and her new friend will need every tool at their disposal -- including their insatiable curiosity, deductive skills and not a little help from their friends -- to solve the case before Aggie's beloved dance instructor is charged with a crime Aggie is sure she didn't commit.

Filled with mystery, adventure, an unforgettable heroine and several helpings of tea and sweets, The Body Under the Piano is the clever debut of a new series for middle-grade readers and Christie and Poirot fans everywhere, from a Governor General's Award--nominated author of historical fiction for children.