Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations
• Canadian International Bookstore Day is coming up on April 24th! See details »

Sorry for Your Loss by Jessie Ann Foley (from a Two Thumb Up reviewer)

Sunday, Mar 01, 2020 at 1:20pm

As the youngest of eight, painfully average Pup Flanagan is used to flying under the radar. He’s barely passing his classes. He lets his longtime crush walk all over him. And he’s in no hurry to decide on a college path. The only person who ever made him think he could be more was his older brother Patrick. But that was before Patrick died suddenly, leaving Pup with a family who won’t talk about it and acquaintances who just keep saying, “sorry for your loss.” When Pup excels at a photography assignment he thought he’d bomb, things start to come into focus. His dream girl shows her true colors. An unexpected friend exposes Pup to a whole new world, right under his nose. And the photograph that was supposed to show Pup a way out of his grief ultimately reveals someone else who is still stuck in their own. Someone with a secret regret Pup never could have imagined.

Sorry for your Loss is a good book, but there is some info missing. Jessie Ann Foley is not clear on certain details, for example: characters. I had to keep looking back at the family tree at the start of the book because I had no idea who some of the Flanagan family members were. I would rate this book 6/10. I would recommend this book to anyone 12+ (swears, intenseness) who loves dramas.

- Marlee, a Two Thumbs Up reviewer

Categories: Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Two Thumbs Up

More articles from teens

See:

Sorry for Your Loss

- by Jessie Ann Foley

Children's paperback $13.50 - Add to Cart
Reader Reward Price: $12.15

From Printz Honor winner and Morris Award finalist Jessie Ann Foley comes a comitragic YA novel that will appeal to fans of Jandy Nelson and Jeff Zentner.

As the youngest of eight, painfully average Pup Flanagan is used to flying under the radar. He's barely passing his classes. He lets his longtime crush walk all over him. And he's in no hurry to decide on a college path.

The only person who ever made him think he could be more was his older brother Patrick. But that was before Patrick died suddenly, leaving Pup with a family who won't talk about it and acquaintances who just keep saying, "sorry for your loss."

When Pup excels at a photography assignment he thought he'd bomb, things start to come into focus. His dream girl shows her true colors. An unexpected friend exposes Pup to a whole new world, right under his nose.

And the photograph that was supposed to show Pup a way out of his grief ultimately reveals someone else who is still stuck in their own. Someone with a secret regret Pup never could have imagined.

Winner of the 2020-2020 North Star YA Award

Named to YALSA's Best Fiction for Young Adults list