Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations
• Canadian International Bookstore Day is coming up on April 24th! See details »

Parked by Danielle Svetcov (by a Two Thumbs Up reviewer)

Friday, Feb 28, 2020 at 6:13pm

Jeanne Ann is smart, stubborn, living in an orange van, and determined to find a permanent address before the start of seventh grade. Cal is tall, sensitive, living in a humongous house across the street, and determined to save her. Jeanne Ann is roughly as enthusiastic about his help as she is about living in a van. As the two form a tentative friendship that grows deeper over alternating chapters, they're buoyed by a cast of complex, oddball characters, who let them down, lift them up, and leave you cheering. Debut novelist Danielle Svetcov shines a light on a big problem without a ready answer, nailing heartbreak and hope, and pulling it off with a humor and warmth that make the funny parts of Jeanne Ann and Cal's story cathartic and the difficult parts all the more moving.

I really liked Parked. The story's transitions were very smooth and the plots' interconnectedness pulled everything together nice and neat. The characters friendship evolved slowly, yet from Jeanne Ann's perspective everything is going so fast it's hard to process. In a heartwarming but sometimes sad story about San Francisco homelessness, Danielle Svetcov plunges into the depths of the unknown/not-wanted-to-be-known and brings out this amazing book. 

-Benedict, a Two Thumbs Up reviewer

Categories: Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Two Thumbs Up Kids

More articles from kids

See:

Parked

- by Danielle Svetcov

Children's hardcover $23.99 - Add to Cart
Reader Reward Price: $21.59

For fans of Rebecca Stead and Joan Bauer comes a scrappy, poignant, uplifting debut about family, friendship, and the importance of learning both how to offer help and how to accept it.

"A big-hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in real life." --Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Al Capone at Alcatraz series


Jeanne Ann is smart, stubborn, living in an orange van, and determined to find a permanent address before the start of seventh grade. Cal is awkward, sensitive, living in a humongous house across the street, and determined to save her. Jeanne Ann wants Cal's help just about as much as she wants to live in a van.

As the two form a tentative friendship that grows deeper over alternating chapters, they're buoyed by a cast of complex, oddball characters, who let them down, lift them up, and leave you cheering. Debut novelist Danielle Svetcov shines a light on a big problem without a ready answer, pulling it off with the perfect balance of humor, heartbreak, and hope.

"Insightful [and] touching...Not to be missed." --Karen Cushman, author of The Midwife's Apprentice
"You won't be able to put it down. Trust." --ScaryMommy.com
"For readers of Dan Gemeinhart [and] Katherine Applegate." --The Children's Book Review
"Relatable and beautifully told." --Commonsense Media
"Pertinent....Honest...Uplifting...Fresh." --PW
"Utterly of this moment." --Jack Cheng, author of See You in the Cosmos
"Absorbing and warmhearted." --Annie Barrows, author of the Ivy & Bean series
"Realistically hopeful...Recommended." --SLC
"Sharp...Perceptive." --BCCB
"Unforgettable." --Brightly