Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Man Booker International 2019 longlist

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2019 at 4:45pm

The longlist for this year's Man Booker International prize has been announced. The award, given annually to a single book in English translation, comes with a £50,000 prize that is shared equally between author and translator.

Of interesting note this year, only two of the thirteen books on the list come from major publishing houses — the rest were published by independent presses. This by itself is a win for independent publishers all around, as major awards such as the Man Booker are typically dominated by titles from major publishers.

Find the longlist after the jump...

The 2019 Man Booker International longlist includes:

  • Celestial Bodies by Jokha Alharthi (Oman), translated from Arabic by Marilyn Booth
  • Love in the New Millennium by Can Xue (China), translated by Annelise Finegan Wasmoen
  • The Years by Annie Ernaux (France), translated by Alison Strayer
  • At Dusk by Hwang Sok-yong (South Korea), translated by Sora Kim-Russell
  • Jokes for the Gunmen by Mazen Maarouf (Iceland and Palestine), translated from Arabic by Jonathan Wright
  • Four Soldiers by Hubert Mingarelli (France), translated from French by Sam Taylor
  • The Pine Islands by Marion Poschmann (Germany), translated by Jen Calleja
  • Mouthful of Birds by Samanta Schweblin (Argentina and Italy), translated from Spanish by Megan McDowell
  • The Faculty of Dreams by Sara Stridsberg (Sweden), translated by Deborah Bragan-Turner
  • Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead by Olga Tokarczuk (Poland), translated by Antonia Lloyd-Jones
  • The Shape of the Ruins by Juan Gabriel Vásquez (Colombia), translated from Spanish by Anne McLean
  • The Death of Murat Idrissi by Tommy Wieringa (Netherlands), translated by Sam Garrett
  • The Remainder by Alia Trabucco Zerán (Chile and Italy), translated from Spanish by Sophie Hughes

The shortlist will be announced April 6, 2019, and the winners will be celebrated on May 21, 2019.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg

More articles from books