Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Anskohk Aboriginal Literature Festival Award Winner Announced

Tuesday, Oct 23, 2007 at 1:43pm

Some of Canada's finest Aboriginal writers were honoured at a Gala Dinner and Awards Presentation on Friday, October 19 at the Radisson Hotel in Saskatoon. The wrap up for the Fourth Annual Anskohk Aboriginal Literature Festival featured food, entertainment, and a chance for some of Canada's Aboriginal literati to celebrate together.

Dr. Basil Johnston, author of 20 books and best known for Indian School Days, was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Donna Heinbecker of the Saskatchewan Native Theatre Company, the group that coordinated the festival, presented the four awards of the festival. The winners were as follows:

  • Poetry Book of the Year: That Tongued Belonging by Marilyn Dumont, published by Kegedonce Press
  • Children’s Book of the Year: Nokum is My Teacher by David Bouchard, published by Red Deer Press
  • Fiction Book of the Year: Red Rooms by Cherie Dimaline, published by Theytus Books
  • McNally Robinson Aboriginal Book of the Year: That Tongued Belonging by Marilyn Dumont, published by Kegedonce Press.
  • Congratulations to all the winners, and to the SNTC for another great festival!

    Categories: Awards, Saskatoon

    More articles from books


    that tongued belonging

    - by Marilyn Dumont

    Trade paperback $15.00 - Add to Cart
    Reader Reward Price: $13.50

    From award-winning Métis poet Marilyn Dumont comes that tongued belonging, a collection of poems which search for acceptance in language, culture, love and geographical landscapes. These poems celebrate the humour and tenacity of Indigenous women, lament the death of a mother and recall the degradation of Indigenous women, while challenging accepted ideas of love, age and femininity. that tongued belonging was the winner of the 2007 McNally Robinson Aboriginal Poetry Book of the Year Award and the Anskohk Aboriginal Book of the Year Award.