Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Manitoba Book Awards 2016 shortlists

Monday, Apr 11, 2016 at 3:31pm

The shortlists for the 2015/2016 Manitoba Book Awards were announced last week.

The annual awards, which "strive to acknowledge the wit, the art, and the profound dedication of all of those who fill our pages with 'made in Manitoba' literature", are given along with over $30,000 in prizes to various Manitoban writers, illustrators, designers, and publishers.

The winners of the Manitoba Book Awards will be presented at a gala on April 30th, 2016. If you are interested in attending, tickets can be purchased online.

In the meantime, the 2015/2016 shortlists can be found after the jump.


Lansdowne Prize for Poetry


Manuela Dias Book Design and Illustration Awards

Design Category

General Illustrated Category

Children’s Illustrator Category 

Graphic Novel Category

  • The Graphic Novel Category will be awarded for the first time in 2017. For the first year (2017) we will accept entries published in 2015 and 2016. In following years entries will only be accepted from the current publishing year.


Mary Scorer Award for Best Book by a Manitoba Publisher 

  • After Light by Catherine Hunter, cover design by Doowah Design, published by Signature Editions
  • Indigenous Men and Masculinities: Legacies, Identities, Regeneration, edited by Robert Alexander Innes and Kim Anderson, cover photo by Thosh Collins, cover design by Marvin Harder, interior design by Karen Armstrong Graphic Design, published by University of Manitoba Press
  • Life Among the Qallunaat by Mini Aodla Freeman, edited and with an afterword by Keavy Martin and Julie Rak, with Norma Dunning, cover design by Mike Carroll, interior design by Jess Koroscil, published by University of Manitoba Press
  • The Road to Atlantis by Leo Brent Robillard, cover design by Jamis Paulson, interior design by Sharon Caseburg, published by Turnstone Press
  • Too Far Gone by Chadwick Ginther, cover design by Jamis Paulson, interior design by Sharon Caseburg, published by Ravenstone, an imprint of Turnstone Press


Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction


Alexander Kennedy Isbister Award for Non-Fiction 


Beatrice Mosionier Award for Aboriginal Writer of the Year



Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award 


Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book


John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer 

  • Donna Besel
  • Jodi Carmichael
  • G.M.B. Chomichuk
  • Joanne Epp
  • Chantal Fiola
  • Alix Sobler


Michael Van Rooy Award for Genre Fiction

  • Blue Vengeance by Alison Preston, published Signature Editions
  • Infinitum by G.M.B. Chomichuk, published by ChiGraphic, an imprint of ChiZine Publications
  • Kraken Bake by Karen Dudley, published by Ravenstone, an imprint of Turnstone Press
  • Put on the Armour of Light by Catherine Macdonald, published by Dundurn
  • Too Far Gone by Chadwick Ginther, published by Ravenstone, an imprint of Turnstone Press


McNally Robinson Books for Young People Awards (younger)

  • Alexia Wants to Fly by Talia Pura, illustrated by Wai Tien, published by Lilly Star Press
  • Fur Is Only Fur Deep by Julia Schettler, illustrated by Sarah Neville, published by Peasantry Press
  • InvisiBill by Maureen Fergus, illustrated by Dušan Petricic, published by Tundra Books
  • Misaabe’s Stories: A Story of Honesty by Katherena Vermette, illustrated by Irene Kuziw, published by Portage & Main Press
  • Nana and Me by Kathy Knowles, illustrated by Edmund Opare, published by Osu Children’s Library Fund


McNally Robinson Books for Young People Awards (older)

  • Betty: The Helen Betty Osborne Story by David Alexander Robertson, illustrated by Scott B Henderson, published by HighWater Press, an imprint of Portage & Main Press
  • Broken Stone by Gabriele Goldstone, published by Rebelight Publishing Inc.
  • Forever Julia by Jodi Carmichael, published by Great Plains Teen Fiction, an imprint of Great Plains Publications
  • Ghost Most Foul by Patti Grayson, published by Coteau Books


McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award

Categories: Awards, Winnipeg, Prairie Writing, Regional Interest

More articles from books