Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

The shortlists for the Pat Lowther and Gerald Lampert Memorial Awards announced.

Wednesday, Apr 07, 2010 at 10:08am

The league of Canadian Poets has announced the 2010 shortlists for the Pat Lowther and Gerald Lampert Memorial Awards. Each award carries a prize of $1,000 and the winners will be announced June 11th-13th during the annual league of Canadian Poets festival and conference in Toronto.

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award recognizes the best first book of poetry published by a Canadian in the preceding year. It is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator/promoter, who was interested in the works of new writers. The nominees for this year are:

  • Kate Hall for The Certainty Dream (Coach House Books)
  • James Langer for Gun Dogs (House of Anansi Press)
  • Marcus McCann for Soft Where (Chaudiere Books)
  • Soraya Mariam Peerbaye for Poems for the Advisory Committee on Antarctic Names (Goose Lane Editions)
  • Marguerite Pigeon for Inventory (Anvil Press)
  • Robert Earl Stewart for Something Burned Along the Southern Border (Mansfield Press)

  • The Pat Lowther Award recognizes a book of poetry by a Canadian woman published in the preceding year. It is awarded in memory of the late Pat Lowther whose burgeoning career as a poet was cut short by her untimely death at the age of 40. The nominees for this year are:

  • Elizabeth Bachinsky for God of Missed Connections (Nightwood Editions)
  • Ronna Bloom for Permiso (Pedlar Press)
  • Sina Queyras for Expressway (Coach House Books)
  • Damian Rogers for Paper Radio (ECW Press, a misFit book)
  • Laisha Rosnau for Lousy Explorers (Nightwood Editions)
  • Karen Solie for Pigeon (House of Anansi Press)
  • Categories: Awards, Poetry

    More articles from books