Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Griffin Poetry Prize winners for 2017

Tuesday, Jun 13, 2017 at 5:35pm

The winners of this year's Griffin Poetry Prize – "the world’s largest prize for a first edition single collection of poetry written in English" – were announced last week.

The Canadian winner was Jordan Abel for his collection, Injun, and the International prize went to Alice Oswald for her book, Falling Awake. Each of them took home a prize of C$65,000.

Congratulations, Mr. Abel and Ms. Oswald!

To learn more about the 2017 Griffin Poetry Prize, please visit the Prize's website.

Categories: Awards, Poetry, Saskatoon, Winnipeg

Naomi Alderman wins the 2017 Baileys Prize

Thursday, Jun 08, 2017 at 4:37pm

British author Naomi Alderman has won the 2017 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction for her novel, The Power.

The Power is described as dystopian and feminist science fiction. It is a speculative tale that begins in a world that is very much like our own... until a vital new force takes root. Teenage girls develop immense power: the ability to cause pain and even death with as little as a touch — which causes a dramatic reset of society. It is an ambitious and thrilling story, touching on many major concerns of our time: censorship, religion, and of course gender politics.

This is the first time the prize has been awarded for a science fiction title, and the second time Alderman has won the women's prize  the first instance was in 2006, when the award was known as the Orange Prize, for her debut novel, Disobedience.

Congratulations, Ms. Alderman! You can read more about her win and the prize on the Baileys Women's Prize website.

Please note: The Power is, unfortunately, currently only available in the UK. A North American edition is scheduled for a Fall 2017 release. Please contact your nearest McNally Robinson bookstore to arrange for a no-charge pre-order.

Categories: Awards, SciFi & Fantasy, Saskatoon, Winnipeg

Lambda Literary Awards 2017 finalists

Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 12:04pm

The finalists for the 29th annual Lambda Literary Awards, which celebrate the best in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender literature, have been announced.

See the extensive array of shortlists on the Lambda Literary website, and get in touch with your nearest McNally Robinson bookstore or search here on the website to check out any titles that interest you. If the books aren't in stock, we'll certainly look into getting them for you at no extra charge.

The winners will be announced at a gala in New York City on June 12, 2017. For more general information about the awards, please visit the Lambda Literary website.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, LGBTQ

2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist

Thursday, May 04, 2017 at 10:50am

The finalists for the 31st Arthur C. Clarke Award, which honours the best science fiction novel published in the United Kingdom during the previous year, have been announced.

The shortlist includes:

The winner will be announced on July 27th, 2017.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg

2017 Stephen Leacock Award for Humour shortlist

Wednesday, May 03, 2017 at 5:19pm

The finalists for the 2017 Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour have been announced.

The award, named after famous Canadian humourist Stephen Leacock, honours the greatest Canadian literature of the past year, and comes with a $15,000 prize.

Down from a longlist of eleven nominees, the finalists for this year's Leacock Medal are:

The winner will be announced and celebrated at an awards gala on Saturday, June 10, 2017.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Humour
< Newer  - 1 ...  7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... 117 -   Earlier >