Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Esi Edugyan wins the 2018 Giller Prize

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2018 at 4:06pm

Esi Edugyan has won the 2018 Scotiabank Giller Prize, Canada's richest literary award, for her novel Washington Black.

This is the second time Edugyan has been awarded the Giller, the first time having been in 2011 for her novel Half-Blood Blues. In both cases she triumphed over stiff competition — this year from the likes of finalists Patrick deWitt, Eric Dupont, Sheila Heti, and Thea Lim — going to show the full extent of her literary prowess.

A very well-deserved honour, indeed, so congratulations, Ms. Edugyan!

To read more about the 2018 Giller Prize, check out the award's website.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg

Writers' Trust of Canada 2018 winners

Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 12:39pm

On November 7th 2018, the winners of various awards presented by the Writers' Trust of Canada — which recognize the best in Canadian writing in a variety of categories — were unveiled:

  • Kathy Page won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize for her historical novel Dear Evelyn.
  • Elizabeth Hay won the Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction for her memoir All Things Consoled: A Daughter’s Memoir.
  • Winnipeg author David Bergen won the Matt Cohen award in recognition of a lifetime of distinguished work.
  • Christopher Paul Curtis won the Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People.
  • Alissa York won the Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award for mid-career fiction writing.
  • Jordan Scott won the Latner Writers’ Trust Poetry Prize.
  • And Shahsi Bhat won the Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize.

For more information on these prizes and their winners, visit the Writers' Trust of Canada website.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg

Governor General's Literary Awards 2018 winners

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2018 at 5:37pm

The winners of this year's Governor General's Literary Awards, which are managed by the Canada Council for the Arts to recognize the best in Canadian books, were announced this week.

The winners in English include:

Congratulations to all!

The list of French winners, as well as more general details of the awards, can be found on the GGBooks website.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg

Anna Burns wins the 2018 Man Booker Prize

Wednesday, Oct 17, 2018 at 5:14pm

This year's Man Booker Prize has been awarded to Anna Burns for her novel, Milkman.

Milkman is a timely story — in an era when the wrong flag, wrong religion, or even a sunset can be subversive — of the way inaction can have enormous repercussions. The novel follows a character known as middle sister, who stands out for all the wrong reasons and who suddenly becomes "interesting" — the last thing she ever wanted to be.

The book has not yet been released in North America, however we expect it to be published in early December of this year. Please get in touch with your nearest McNally Robinson bookstore to set up a pre-order, or pre-order online.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Literature


Governor General's Literary Awards 2018 finalists

Thursday, Oct 04, 2018 at 1:11pm

The finalists for this year's Governor General's Literary Awards have been unveiled.

The Awards, administered by the Canada Council for the Arts, celebrate the best in Canadian writing, and are presented in multiple categories in both English and French. The winners each receive a prize of $25,000, and each finalist receives $1,000.

The English finalists can be found after the jump below, and the French finalists can be found on the GGBooks website.

The winners will be announced on October 30th, 2018, at a special celebration at Rideau Hall in Ottawa.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Canadian Lit


< Newer  - 1 ...  2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 117 -   Earlier >