Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Governor General's Awards Shortlist Released

Saturday, Oct 08, 2016 at 1:24pm

The Canada Council for the Arts recognizes its country's rich literary landscape with the annual Governor General's Literary Awards (GGs). The awards cover a generous number of genres, including fiction, poetry, drama, non-fiction, youth literature, youth illustrated literature, and works in translation.

The winners in each category will be announced on October 25, 2016. Each individual winner will receive a $25,000 prize, and each runner-up will be awarded $1,000. The publishers that put forth the works will also be given $3,000 for promotional purposes.

Categories: Awards, Authors, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Book Lists, Literature


October's Author of the Month: ANDRE ALEXIS

Saturday, Aug 27, 2016 at 3:22pm

André Alexis was born in Trinidad, raised in Ottawa and now lives in Toronto. His most recent novel, Fifteen Dogs, which uses man’s best friend to explore what it means to be human, won the 2015 Giller Prize. Alexis has been a writer to reckon with right from the start of his literary career. His debut novel, Childhood (1998), won the Books in Canada First Novel Award, the Trillium Book Award, and was shortlisted for the Giller Prize and the Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. His other books include Asylum, Beauty and SadnessIngrid & the Wolf, and Despair and Other Stories of Ottawa. In 2014 he published Pastoral, which was nominated for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, and is the first in a planned series of five novels on philosophical themes, Fifteen Dogs being the second.

His new novel, The Hidden Keys, is the third in the series. It opens in the Green Dolphin, a bar of ill repute, when Tancred Palmieri, a thief with elegant and erudite tastes, meets Willow Azarian. Willow is an aging heroin addict whose wealthy father has recently passed away. She enlists Palmieri to cheat her siblings out of their inheritance by stealing the clues their father left as to its whereabouts in a tale that questions what it means to be honourable, what it means to be faithful and what it means to sin.

Join us for An Evening with André Alexis in Winnipeg on Monday, October 24th, at 7:00 PM.

Categories: Authors, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Author of the Month

Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction 2016: Finalists

Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 5:32pm

The Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction announced its list of five finalists this past week. This award recognizes the unique voices of nonfiction authors of many genres, including essays, history, biographies, memoirs, journalistic work, and social and political commentaries.

The list of 2016 finalists includes:

The lucky individual who nabs first place will receive $60,000, and each of the other finalists will be awarded $5,000. The winning writer will be announced on November 2 at the Writers' Trust Awards in Toronto.

Categories: Awards, Authors, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Publishing News, Book Lists

Scotiabank Giller Prize 2016: Shortlist

Friday, Sep 30, 2016 at 4:20pm

The shortlist of six authors in line to win the 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize was announced on September 26. This prize, celebrating high-caliber Canadian fiction, rewards the winning author with a lump sum of $100,000 as well as national literary recognition.

This year's shortlist includes:

These six selections will be narrowed down to one by a panel of five jurors, including esteemed Canadian author Lawrence Hill. The winner will be announced on Monday, November 7 at the Scotiabank Giller Prize Gala. The event will air on CBC and will be streamed live at at 9 pm (10 AT/10:30 NT).

You can read the juror's comments on the nominated titles here.

And for our Winnipeg readers and customers, don't forget to join us at the Giller Light Bash!

Categories: Awards, Authors, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Publishing News

Finalists Announced for 2016 Rogers' Writers Trust Fiction Prize

Friday, Sep 23, 2016 at 3:19pm

The list of finalists for the 2016 Rogers' Writers Trust Fiction Prize was released on September 21.                                                                

This $25,000 prize is awarded annually to a standout Canadian novel or short story, as chosen by a panel of three judges from the literary community. This is the twentieth anniversary of the prize, which was created in 1997 by The Writers Trust of Canada, a charitable organization that strives to celebrate top-notch Canadian writing, and sponsored by Rogers Communications.

The winner will be chosen from the following five authors:

Categories: Awards, Authors, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Book Lists


< Newer  - 1 ...  4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... 60 -   Earlier >