Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Michael Ondaatje wins Golden Man Booker Prize

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2018 at 12:50pm

Michael Ondaatje has been awarded the Golden Man Booker Prize for his novel, The English Patient, making him the greatest-ever winner of the Man Booker Prize.

The Golden Man Booker Prize was made to celebrate the Man Booker's 50th anniversary. All previous 51 Man Booker winners were eligible for the Golden prize, and the shortlist, which consisted of five finalists, one from each decade of the Prize's history, was determined by a panel of judges. Ultimately the winner — Mr. Ondaatje — was decided by popular vote.

Read more after the jump...

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Literature, Canadian Lit


Canada Reads 2018 contenders

Saturday, Feb 03, 2018 at 1:16pm

The five finalists for this year's Canada Reads challenge have been decided.

Canada Reads, an annual competition run and broadcast by the CBC, pits books against each other to determine which book is the one all Canadians should read. Each of the contending books is championed by a media personality, who defends its merits through the rounds while panellists vote out titles one by one until the last remains.

The 2018 contenders and their champions are:

  • The Boat People by Sharon Bala, defended by singer Mozhdah Jamalzadah
  • American War by Omar El Akkad, defended by actor Tahmoh Penikett
  • Precious Cargo by Craig Davidson, defended by severe weather expert Greg Johnson
  • Forgiveness by Mark Sakamoto, defended by stylist and editor Jeanne Beker
  • The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline, defended by singer Jully Black

The debates take place March 26 - 29, 2018. You can listen to them live on CBC Radio One, or stream them online through CBC's website.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Literature, Canadian Lit

29th annual Manitoba Book Awards winners

Tuesday, Apr 25, 2017 at 11:49am

At an awards gala held in Winnipeg's historic Fort Garry Hotel this past Saturday, the winners of the 29th annual Manitoba Book Awards were announced and celebrated.

The Awards, presented by the Manitoba Writers' Guild and made possible by sponsorships from government funding and many local businesses, honour books published in 2016 that were written by a Manitoba author, made by a Manitoba press, or with a focus on Manitoba content.

Congratulations to all of the winners! See a complete list of them after the jump...

Categories: Awards, Winnipeg, Prairie Writing, Canadian Lit


2017 Poetry Awards shortlists

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2017 at 1:05pm

Last week, the League of Canadian Poets announced the 2017 Poetry Awards shortlists for the Gerald Lampert and Pat Lowther Memorial Awards, the Raymond Souster Award, and the finalists for the 2017 Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award, each of which honours a specific form of Canadian poetry published last year.

Details on each award and their shortlists can be found after the jump...

Categories: Awards, Poetry, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Canadian Lit


The Manitoba Book Awards 2017 shortlists

Friday, Mar 24, 2017 at 2:35pm

The finalists for the 29th annual Manitoba Book Awards — which honours books by Manitoba authors, about Manitoba, and/or published within Manitoba in 2016 — have been unveiled.

The Awards, an annual project of the Manitoba Writers’ Guild produced with the assistance of the Association of Manitoba Book Publishers and various Manitoban sponsors, celebrate literary excellence, originality and diverse talent, and provide over $30,000 in prizes to Manitoba writers each year. Past winners include Carol Shields, Miriam Toews, David Bergen, and Wab Kinew.

This year's winners will be announced and celebrated at a gala dinner on Saturday, April 22nd, at The Fort Garry Hotel. All are welcome to attend, and tickets can be purchased online or by phone. Visit this page for more details.

The 2016/2017 shortlists can be found after the jump...

Categories: Awards, Winnipeg, Literature, Canadian Lit


< Newer   - 1 2 3 4 5 -   Earlier >