Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

1984 Declared Definitive Book of the 20th Century

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 11:06am

An online poll at The Guardian Unlimited has voted for George Orwell's 1984 as the definitive book of the 20th century. Is this double-plus good, or double-plus bad?

Categories: Awards


John W. Campbell Nominees Announced

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 7:28pm

The finalists for the John W. Campbell Award for the best science fiction novel of 2006 have been announced. Unlike the other major science fiction awards the Hugo and the Nebula, the John W. Campbell is selected by a jury. Last year Canada's Robert J. Sawyer won the award for his novel Mindscan.

Categories: Awards, buzz, SciFi & Fantasy


Nova Swing Wins the Arthur C. Clarke Award

Friday, May 04, 2007 at 11:51am

M. John Harrison has won the Arthur C Clarke award for science fiction with Nova Swing, his space-noir where great tourist ships drift from star to star, where you can get a new body, a new self. You can be anything you choose - except in the forbidden zone where choice no longer applies.

Categories: Awards, SciFi & Fantasy


Alice Munro Longlisted for World's Richest Short Story Collection Prize

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 12:02pm

The Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award, a €35,000 prize, is open to any book published in English for the first time between October 2006 and September 2007. In addition to Munro, Canadian J.M. Villaverde also made the long list.

The full list of 34 names include 9 American, 6 Irish, 6 British, 5 Australian, 2 Canadian authors. New Zealand, Bulgaria, Iceland, Montserrat, Isreal and Kenya each have one author nomination.

American author Rick Moody, Kenyan author Segun Afolabi and Irish author Nuala Ní Chonchúir are the jurors for this year's prize. They will announce the short list in mid-July and announce the winner at the close of the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Festival which takes place in Cork, Ireland in September.

See the full list after the jump.

Categories: Awards


Blue Metropolis Festival Awards New Lit Prize

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 4:05pm

The world's first multilingual literary festival, Blue Metropolis has announced a new literary prize. Given out at the annual festival in Montreal, the inaugural winner of the Canadian literary prize for Arab writers is Elias Khoury. The prize recognizes "a lifetime of substantial literary achievement by an Arab writer working in any genre (poetry, fiction, etc.) in Arabic or another language. The winner will be chosen by a jury appointed by Blue Metropolis Foundation and chaired by the Artistic Director. The prize is sponsored by the Abu Dhabi Authority for Culture and Heritage and has a value of $2,000."

Categories: Awards
< Newer  - 1 ...  112 113 114 115 116 ... 117