Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Manitoba Book Awards 2019 finalists

Friday, Apr 12, 2019 at 3:30pm

The nominees for the 2019 Manitoba Book Awards have been revealed! These awards are divided into eleven categories that recognize excellence in Manitoba writing, book design, and publishing.

The winners will be announced and celebrated at 7 PM on May 3, 2019, at a gala in their honour. This celebration takes place at the Winnipeg Art Gallery, and tickets are on sale now for $20 per person. For more information, please visit the Manitoba Book Awards website.

The lists of nomineese can be found after the jump.

Categories: Awards, Winnipeg, Prairie Writing


Canada Reads 2019 winner

Saturday, Mar 30, 2019 at 1:48pm

Ziya Tong, who championed Max Eisen's Holocaust memoir By Chance Alone, is the winner of Canada Reads 2019.

Published in 2016, By Chance Alone recounts Eisen's own traumatic memories of his family's imprisonment in the Auschwitz concentration camp during the Second World War.

Tong, a science journalist and herself an author, passionately defended By Chance Alone during four days of vigorous literary debates, proving to us all why the memoir is "the one book that will move all Canadians". She was ultimately decided as winner by the panellists during the final debate on March 28, 2019, thus beating out runner-up Chuck Comeau who was defending Homes, the memoir of Abu Bakr al Rabeeah written with Winnie Yeung.

The other three books that were part of Canada Reads 2019 included David Chariandy's Brother, defended by Lisa Ray; by Anaïs Barbeau-Lavalette's Suzanne, defended by Yanic Truesdale; and Lindsay Wong's The Woo Woo, defended by Joe Zee. The debates were hosted by Ali Hassan.

To read more about Canada Reads, and to stream the debates online, visit CBC's website.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Canadian Lit

Man Booker International 2019 longlist

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2019 at 4:18pm

The longlist for this year's Man Booker International prize has been announced. The award, given annually to a single book in English translation, comes with a £50,000 prize that is shared equally between author and translator.

Of interesting note this year, only two of the thirteen books on the list come from major publishing houses — the rest were published by independent presses. This by itself is a win for independent publishers all around, as major awards such as the Man Booker are typically dominated by titles from major publishers.

Find the longlist after the jump...

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg


Esi Edugyan wins the 2018 Giller Prize

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2018 at 4:06pm

Esi Edugyan has won the 2018 Scotiabank Giller Prize, Canada's richest literary award, for her novel Washington Black.

This is the second time Edugyan has been awarded the Giller, the first time having been in 2011 for her novel Half-Blood Blues. In both cases she triumphed over stiff competition — this year from the likes of finalists Patrick deWitt, Eric Dupont, Sheila Heti, and Thea Lim — going to show the full extent of her literary prowess.

A very well-deserved honour, indeed, so congratulations, Ms. Edugyan!

To read more about the 2018 Giller Prize, check out the award's website.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg

Writers' Trust of Canada 2018 winners

Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 12:39pm

On November 7th 2018, the winners of various awards presented by the Writers' Trust of Canada — which recognize the best in Canadian writing in a variety of categories — were unveiled:

  • Kathy Page won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize for her historical novel Dear Evelyn.
  • Elizabeth Hay won the Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction for her memoir All Things Consoled: A Daughter’s Memoir.
  • Winnipeg author David Bergen won the Matt Cohen award in recognition of a lifetime of distinguished work.
  • Christopher Paul Curtis won the Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People.
  • Alissa York won the Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award for mid-career fiction writing.
  • Jordan Scott won the Latner Writers’ Trust Poetry Prize.
  • And Shahsi Bhat won the Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize.

For more information on these prizes and their winners, visit the Writers' Trust of Canada website.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg
< Newer  - 1 ...  2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 117 -   Earlier >