Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Manitoba Book Awards 2022 winners

Friday, Jun 10, 2022 at 12:58pm

Presenting the winners of the 2022 Manitoba Book Awards! With over a dozen different categories, these awards celebrate excellence in Manitoba writing, publishing, illustrating, and book design.

This year's winners include:

Alexander Kennedy Isbister Award for Non-Fiction
Dadibaajim: Returning Home Through Narrative by Helen Olsen Agger, published by University of Manitoba Press

Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award / Prix littéraire Carol-Shields de la ville de Winnipeg
Mont-Blanc-Winnipeg Express par Seream, publié par Les Éditions du Blé

Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book
Persephone's Children: A Life in Fragments by Rowan McCandless, published by Dundurn Press
We Are All Perfectly Fine: A Memoir of Love, Medicine and Healing by Jillian Horton, published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.

John Hirsch Emerging Manitoba Writer Award
Chimwemwe Undi

Lansdowne Prize for Poetry
The Lost Cafeteria by Joel Robert Ferguson, published by Signature Editions

Manuela Dias Book Design and Illustration Awards
BOOK DESIGN: Warehouse Journal Volume Thirty edited & designed by Chelsea Colburn & Teresa Lyons, published by Warehouse Journal, Faculty of Architecture, University of Manitoba
ILLUSTRATION: Category held over until 2023.
CHILDREN'S ILLUSTRATION: You Came From My Heart by Brenlee Coates, illustrations by Roberta Landreth, published by FriesenPress

Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction
Hour of the Crab by Patricia Robertson, published by Goose Lane Editions
Prodigies by Bob Armstrong, published by Five Star (an imprint of Gale, a Cengage Company)

Mary Scorer Award for Best Book by a Manitoba Publisher
Did You See Us? Reunion, Remembrance, and Reclamation at an Urban Indian Residential School by Survivors of the Assiniboia Indian Residential School, preface by Theodore Fontaine, edited by Andrew Woolford, design by Vincent Design, published by University of Manitoba Press

Michael Van Rooy Award for Genre Fiction
So Many Windings by Catherine Macdonald, published by At Bay Press

McNally Robinson Book for Young People (Younger Category)
I Sang You Down from the Stars by Tasha Spillett-Sumner, published by Owlkids Books

McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award
Out of Mind by David Bergen, published by Goose Lane Editions

Congratulations to all!

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Prairie Writing, Canadian Lit

The Booker Prize 2021 longlist

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2021 at 11:38am

The 2021 Booker Prize longlist has been announced, and we are pleased to see two great Canadians made the list: Rachel Cusk for her novel Second Place and Mary Lawson for her novel A Town Called Solace.

The longlist includes:

Congratulations to everyone who made the list!

The finalists will be announced September 14, 2021, and then the winner will be revealed November 3.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Literature

Saskatchewan Book Awards 2021 winners

Tuesday, Jun 29, 2021 at 3:45pm

The winners of the 2021 Saskatchewan Book Awards were announced this week. These awards, which recognize and celebrate excellence and diversity in Saskatchewan writing and publishing, are presented in fourteen categories.

A full list of this year's winners can be found after the jump. Congratulations to all of them!

To see a virtual gala celebrating the winners and to get more information  about the Saskatchewan Book Awards, please visit their website.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Prairie Writing, Canadian Lit


2021 Pulitzer Prize winners

Saturday, Jun 12, 2021 at 12:34pm

This week the winners of the 2021 Pulitzer Prizes were announced.

Started in 1917 by Joseph Pulitzer, a skilled and passionate newspaper publisher, the Pulitzer Prizes are awarded annually to honour excellence in journalism and the arts. Each year 22 prizes are awarded, with winners chosen by a board of members.

Of particular interest to us are the Book winners:

The full list of 2021 winners can be found on

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg

The 2021 Lambda Literary Award winners

Friday, Jun 04, 2021 at 4:33pm

To kick off Pride Month, the Lambda Literary Awards (also known as the "Lammys") announced their 2021 winners on June 1.

The Lammy winners are consistently fantastic and this year is no different. Congratulations to all of them!

Of particular note to our regional interest, the anthology Love After The End: An Anthology of Two-Spirit and Indigiqueer Speculative Fiction edited by Joshua Whitehead and featuring a story from David A. Robertson won in the LGBTQ Anthology category.

You can find the complete list of winners after the jump.

Categories: Awards, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, LGBTQ


  - 1 ...  2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 117 -   Earlier >