Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

Louise Penny Wins the Agatha Award for Best Novel

Monday, May 04, 2009 at 7:29pm

Montreal's Louise Penny, who was recently shortlisted for the Arthur Ellis Award for best novel for her novel The Murder Stone, has also won an Agatha Award for The Cruellest Month. The Agathas, named for Agatha Christie, celebrate the "traditional mystery", or works written in the tradition of the grand dame of crime.

A complete list of nominees and winners in all categories may be found here.

Categories: Awards, Mystery & Crime

2009 Edgar Award Winners Announced

Sunday, May 03, 2009 at 10:28am

$12.99 Add to Cart

The Mystery Writers of America have named the winners of the 2009 Edgar Awards.

Categories: Awards, Mystery & Crime


Crime Writer's of Canada Name Shortlists for Arthur Ellis Awards

Sunday, Apr 26, 2009 at 12:47pm

The Arthur Ellis Award, named for Canada's former official hangman, celebrates excellence in Canadian crime writing. This year's shortlists have just been released by the Crime Writers of Canada.

Categories: Awards, Mystery & Crime


Tea Time for the Traditionally Built by Alexander McCall Smith

Thursday, Apr 23, 2009 at 6:15pm

Tea Time for the Traditionally built transports us back to Mma Ramotswe's No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency on Tlokweng Road in Gaborone, Botswana for the 10th installment of Alexander McCall Smith's bestselling series. Despite the exotic locale, reading Tea Time for the Traditionally Built is like returning to a fondly remembered vacation spot because Mma Ramotswe's Gaborone is peopled with characters whose emotions and motivations are completely relatable.

Categories: Reviews, Mystery & Crime


2009 Edgar Award Nominees

Monday, Jan 19, 2009 at 4:43pm

The Mystery Writers of America have released the shortlists for the annual Edgar Awards, celebrating excellence in the field of crime writing. The Edgars are named after Edgar Allan Poe, whose tale "The Murders in the Rue Morgue" is often credited as the first detective story. The award winners will be announced April 30th in New York City.

Categories: Awards, Mystery & Crime


< Newer   - 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 -   Earlier >