Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations
parsed(2024-06-04) - pubdate: 06/24
turn:
pub date: 1717477200
today: 1718427600, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Forgotten on Sunday

June 4, 2024 | Hardcover
ISBN: 9798889660187
$42.95
Reader Reward Price: $38.66 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

An unforgettable story about an unlikely friendship and about healing the wounds of a broken past from the million-copy bestselling author of Fresh Water for Flowers

Justine is 21 years old and has lived with her grandparents and her cousin Jules since the death of her parents. As a nursing assistant at a retirement home, she spends much of her days listening to her residents' stories. 

After bonding with Hélène, an almost 100-year-old resident, the two women slowly reveal their stories to one another. Whilst Justine helps Hélène to relive her memories of love and war, Hélène encourages Justine to confront the secrets of her own past, and the loss she keeps buried deep within. 

One day, a mysterious phone detailing a shocking revelation shakes the retirement home to its core. At once humorous and melancholic, Valérie Perrin's novel depicts the consequences of undeclared love and, in her inimitable way, portrays once again how the past is never really past.

About this Author

Valérie Perrin was born in 1967 in Remiremont, in the Vosges Mountains, France. She grew up in Burgundy and settled in Paris in 1986. Her novel Forgotten On Sunday (Europa, 2024) won the Booksellers Choice Award in France and the paperback edition has been a long-selling best-seller since publication. Her English-language debut, Fresh Water for Flowers (Europa, 2020) won the Maison de la Presse Prize, the Paperback Readers Prize, and was named a 2020 ABA Indies Introduce and Indie Next List title. It has been translated into over thirty languages. Figaro Littéraire named Perrin one of the ten best-selling authors in France in 2019, and in Italy, Fresh Water for Flowers was the best selling book of 2020. Perrin now lives in Normandy.
For Europa Editions,Hildegarde Serle has translated the bestselling Mirror Visitor series by Christelle Dabos and Perrin's previous book, Fresh Water for Flowers . She lives in London.

ISBN: 9798889660187
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 304
Publisher: Europa Editions
Published: 2024-06-04

Reviews

? "Perrin's signature gift of transmuting quotidian circumstances into transcendent truths is everywhere apparent."--ForeWord Reviews (Starred Review)

? "The many admirers of Perrin's previous novel, Fresh Water for Flowers, will be equally charmed by this beguiling tale. All other readers might be doubly rewarded."--Library Journal

"A deeply emotional, intergenerational saga about family secrets and the enduring power of love.... An engrossing work about love and loss; ideal for fans of Jojo Moyes and Kate Morton."--Booklist

"An endearing and original heroine, a surprising setting, and a talented author."--ELLE

"Beautiful."--L'Express 

Praise for Fresh Water for Flowers

"A beautiful, intensely atmospheric bittersweet dream of a book."-Matt Haig

"Melancholic and yet ebullient... An appealing indulgence in nature, food and drink, and, above all, friendships."--The Guardian

"It's very healing... I haven't read a more beautifully written book for a long time."--Sarah Harden, CEO of Hello Sunshine, in the Wall Street Journal

"Full of contentment and hope... Fans of Elizabeth Berg will enjoy this thoughtful take on the inner life of an unforgettable woman."--Booklist

"A glorious read. Touching, thought provoking, taut: a tribute to our power to heal. Another must read."--OCinsite.com

? "Exuberant."--ForeWord Reviews (Starred Review)

"Colorful and highly enjoyable."--Kirkus Reviews

"Enchanting."--Publishers Weekly

"Romantic, yes; light, yes; meaningless, no."--Bethanne Patrick, Literary Hub

"Fresh Water for Flowers entranced me with its quiet joy."--Kathi Kirby, Powell's Books, Portland, OR

"Fresh Water For Flowers goes to show how debuts can be great works. Perrin plumbs the depths of motherhood, life on the streets, and regret in her story [...] It is an extremely well-written book that was frankly difficult to put down."--San Francisco Book Review

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.