Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2024-04-02) - pubdate: 04/24
turn:
pub date: 1712034000
today: 1718773200, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

The Secret Keeper

April 2, 2024 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9781982196981
$24.99
Reader Reward Price: $22.49 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

From USA TODAY and internationally bestselling author Genevieve Graham comes a gripping World War II novel about two sisters who join the war effort--one as a codebreaker and the other as a pilot--and the secrets that threaten to tear them apart. Perfect for fans of The Rose Code and The Nightingale.

Twin sisters Dot and Dash Wilson share many things, and while they are practically inseparable, they are nothing alike. Dot is fascinated by books, puzzles, and Morse code, a language taught to both girls by their father, a WWI veteran. Dash's days are filled with fixing engines, dancing with friends, and dreaming of flying airplanes. Almost always at their side is their best friend Gus--until war breaks out and he enlists in the army, deploying to an unknown front.

Determined to do their duty, both girls join the WRENS, Dash as a mechanic and Dot as a typist. Before long, Dot's fixation on patterns and numbers takes her from HMCS Coverdale, a covert listening and codebreaking station working with Bletchley Park in England, to Camp X, a top-secret spy school. But when personal tragedy strikes the family, Dot's oath of secrecy causes a rift between the sisters.

Eager to leave her pain behind, Dash jumps at the opportunity to train as a pilot with the Air Transport Auxiliary, where she risks her life to ferry aircraft and troops across the battlefields of Europe. Meanwhile Dot is drawn into the Allies' preparations for D-Day. But Dot's loyalties are put to the test once more when someone close to her goes missing in Nazi-occupied territory. With everyone's eyes on Operation Overlord, Dot must use every skill at her disposal to save those she loves before it's too late.

Inspired by the real-life stories of women in World War II, The Secret Keeper is an extraordinary novel about the unbreakable bonds of sisterhood and the light of courage during the darkest of nights.

About this Author

Genevieve Graham is the USA TODAY and #1 bestselling author of twelve novels, including The Secret KeeperThe Forgotten Home Child, which has been optioned for TV; Letters Across the Sea; and Bluebird. She is passionate about breathing life back into history through tales of love and adventure. She lives in Alberta. Visit her at GenevieveGraham.com or on X and Instagram @GenGrahamAuthor.

ISBN: 9781982196981
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 448
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Published: 2024-04-02

Reviews

"Graham is the reigning queen of historical fiction about Canada, and The Secret Keeper is her most sweeping, searing story yet, an intricate tale of the Canadian women of World War II, many of whom were sworn to keep their wartime heroics secret. A riveting historical tale of sisterhood, sacrifice, love, and war, it will change the way you look at twentieth-century history."
-- KRISTIN HARMEL, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Daughter

"Thrilling and heartfelt, The Secret Keeper showcases the oft-forgotten contributions of Canadian women to the war effort through twin sisters Dot and Dash, whose commitments to serve put them at odds with their commitments to each other. With a particularly heart-pounding third act, The Secret Keeper is Genevieve Graham at her masterful best."
-- BRYN TURNBULL, internationally bestselling author of The Paris Deception

"A riveting tale of the steadfast bond between sisters in the midst of wartime adventure. In Dot and Dash's extraordinary journey, Genevieve Graham vividly captures the courageous heroics of women in WWII."
-- PAULLINA SIMONS, internationally bestselling author of Light at Lavelle and The Bronze Horseman

"Genevieve Graham never fails to fascinate with incredible stories of Canada's past . . . A sweeping novel about the bonds between sisters and the burden of secrets in a time of war, it will thrill and charm readers in equal measure."
-- JULIA KELLY, internationally bestselling author of The Lost English Girl

"Another moving and inspiring work of historical fiction from Genevieve Graham . . . brimming with heart, sisterhood, sacrifice, and romance. . . .Graham deftly captures the emotional and physical toll of war on the home front, while beautifully illustrating the capacity for human resilience, camaraderie, and connection inside us all."
-- NATALIE JENNER, internationally bestselling author of Every Time We Say Goodbye

"Genevieve Graham unveils the strength of Canada's women in their efforts during WWII with her incredible research. Dash and Dot are intrepid heroines you'll want to root for . . . a story you won't want to put down."
-- MADELINE MARTIN, New York Times bestselling author of The Keeper of Hidden Books

"Reading a Genevieve Graham novel is like reading a love letter to Canada. In The Secret Keeper, impressive research, tender family dynamics, and an absorbing plot intertwine to pay homage to the quiet heroes of the Second World War."
-- ELLEN KEITH, bestselling author of The Dutch Orphan

"[T]ouching and harrowing. Graham masterfully and lovingly recreates the lives of two women engaged in wartime service, capturing their youthful idealism, sense of duty, and sheer energy. You will follow the adventures of sisters Dot and Dash with your heart in your mouth. Not to be missed!"
-- IONA WHISHAW, bestselling author of To Track a Traitor

"Genevieve Graham once again takes a deep dive into the world of women at war with Dot and Dash, twin sisters from Oshawa, who overcome male prejudice to make a massive contribution to the defeat of evil. Vivid characterizations and pinpoint research bring that dangerous--yet exciting--world alive. And though it is not the focus, there's a fine examination of love-under-fire too."
-- C.C. HUMPHREYS, award-winning author of Someday I'll Find You and Plague

"Genevieve Graham expertly takes us deep into the top secret world of WWII codebreaking and aviation in this thrilling and imaginative story. I fell in love with Dot and Dash from the get-go."
-- SARA ACKERMAN, bestselling author of The Unchartered Flight of Olivia West

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.