Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2022-06-21) - pubdate: 06/22
turn:
pub date: 1655787600
today: 1675317600, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Grown Ups

June 21, 2022 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9781782277088
$19.95
Reader Reward Price: $17.96 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

"The perfect summer read."  --British Vogue
 
A whip-smart novel about modern motherhood and sibling rivalry, from one of Norway's rising stars--perfect for fans of Emma Straub and the films of Greta Gerwig!


Exhilarating, funny, and unexpectedly devastating, Grown Ups is for anyone who has ever felt the fear of being overtaken by a sibling, who feels almost--but not quite--grown up, and who's struggled to navigate a new future for themselves.

Ida is a forty-year-old architect, single and starting to panic. She's navigating Tinder and contemplating freezing her eggs, terrified that time has passed her by, silently, without her ever realizing it, which feels even more poignant and common in our COVID era.

All she sees are other people's children, everywhere.

Now stuck in the idyllic Norwegian countryside for a gathering to mark her mother's sixty-fifth birthday, Ida is regressing. She's fighting with her younger sister, Marthe, and flirting with her sister's husband. But when some supposedly wonderful news from Marthe heightens tensions further, Ida is forced to mark out new milestones of her own.

About this Author

MARIE AUBERT made her debut in 2016 with the short story collection Can I Come Home With You, published to great acclaim in Norway. Grown Ups is her first novel; it won the Young People's Critics' Prize and was nominated for the Booksellers' Prize in Norway.
 
ROSIE HEDGER was born in Scotland. Her translation of Gine Cornelia Pedersen's Zero was shortlisted for the Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize in 2019, and her translation of Agnes Ravatn's The Bird Tribunal won an English Pen Translates Award in 2016. 

ISBN: 9781782277088
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 160
Publisher: Steerforth Press
Published: 2022-06-21

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.