Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2023-05-30) - pubdate: 2023-05-30
turn:
pub date: 1685422800
today: 1721797200, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Friends Like These

May 30, 2023 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9781774881101
$17.99
Reader Reward Price: $16.19 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

From bestselling, award-winning author Meg Rosoff comes a gritty, intoxicating novel about a summer of unforgettable firsts: of independence, lies, love and the inevitable loss of innocence. Sharp and irresistible, it's perfect for fans of Judy Blume's Summer Sisters and Elena Ferrante's My Brilliant Friend.

New York City. Summer 1983. A summer internship in New York was meant to be everything Beth wanted. But from the moment she arrives in the city she feels wrong: wrong hair, terrible clothes, defective smile, too obviously a virgin. Sharing a hot, cockroach-filled apartment with a couple falling out of love completes the dream picture. Then she meets her fellow interns: ambitious out-of-towner Dan, preppy rich boy Oliver, and Edie -- a beautiful, brittle, magnetic, instant best friend. Irresistible people are like gravity. You can't help being pulled towards them -- can you?

About this Author

MEG ROSOFF grew up in a suburb of Boston and moved to London in 1989. She spent fifteen years working in advertising before writing her first YA novel, How I Live Now, which has sold more than a million copies in thirty-six territories. It won the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the Michael L. Printz Award in the US and was made into a feature film. Her subsequent nine novels have been awarded or shortlisted for, among others, the Carnegie Medal and the National Book Award. She lives in London with her husband, the painter Paul Hamlyn.

ISBN: 9781774881101
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 320
Publisher: Tundra Book Group
Published: 2023-05-30

Reviews

One of Audible Canada's Best of 2023

PRAISE FOR Friends Like These:


"Rosoff evokes an unbearably hot summer in Manhattan with sidewalk-melting intensity, not skimping on gritty period detail, conveyed in a tabloid tone from the very first page. . . . Readers who remember the 1980s will enjoy this edgy tale of lost innocence as much as new adults." --Kirkus Reviews

"Through [Beth and Edie's] intense and complicated relationship, Rosoff depicts a rousing tale that centers an ambitious yet insecure teenager learning to take control of her life and desires." --Publishers Weekly

"A quick read that will delight readers dreaming of a New York City adventure for themselves." --Booklist

"Rosoff, always incredibly adept with her creation of characters and storylines, excels once again." --Youth Services Book Review

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.