Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2018-11-06) - pubdate: 11/18
turn:
pub date: 1541484000
today: 1721797200, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Coop the Great

November 6, 2018 | Children's paperback
ISBN: 9781773370095
$11.95
Reader Reward Price: $10.76 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

Coop is an aging, cynical, down-and-out dachshund who faces the ultimate test when his new owner, Mike, and Mike's grandchildren, Zach and Emma, run into trouble. Mike rescued him, but does Coop have what it takes to do the same?

Drawing strength from the stories about great dogs that Mike shares with him, Coop charts a dangerous journey to save his new family.

About this Author

Writer and educator LARRY VERSTRAETE is a former elementary school teacher and university instructor. Larry is an award-winning author of sixteen books for young people, an active promoter of books and literacy, and a frequent visitor to schools and librairies where he shares his passion for writing, science and great adventures. He's travelled all over the world, but calls Winnipeg home.

ISBN: 9781773370095
Format: Children's paperback
Series: Coop The Great
Pages: 160
Publisher: Great Plains Publications
Published: 2018-11-06

Reviews

"sensitively examines the impact domestic abuse has on all members of the family as well as the damaging psychological effects repeated failed adoptions have on rescue animals. Tears are likely to be shed reading this book due to the authors' deft hand in writing emotional scenes with cinematic sunrise quality. A quick and enjoyable read filled with endearing characters, moments of humour and heartfelt storytelling, Coop the Great is a wonderful middle-school novel for all readers. Perfect for both young readers who love animals, as well as a classroom or bedtime read-aloud focusing on important themes of empathy, heroism, and the power of a positive mindset, this is a novel worthy of purchase and priority placement on bookshelves." -- Highly Recommended, CM Magazine

"Every now and then, I come across a book that hits me so hard that I can't stop thinking about it, this is one such book. I have to confess, I've read this book four, yes that's right, four times ... I wish I could give this book 100 stars, but, I am forced to only give it a meager five out of five." -- My Book Abyss

"... the author really captures the voice of Coop. I have read many failed attempts at this point of view, but Verstraete does an amazing job. I don't think I could survive another chapter in this book since it was filled with almost too much excitement for one small dog. Fans of Spencer Quinn, Bruce Cameron, and Garth Stein will love this one." -- BookHounds

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.