Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2018-09-25) - pubdate: 09/18
turn:
pub date: 1537851600
today: 1713934800, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

A Sorrowful Sanctuary

A Lane Winslow Mystery

September 25, 2018 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9781771512893
Reader Reward Price: $17.06 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

In the fifth book of the series that the Globe and Mail calls "terrific," Lane Winslow investigates the murder of an unidentified man she found adrift in a boat near King's Cove.

Lane Winslow is enjoying a perfect, sunny day at the lake when she spots a gravely injured young man drifting in a sinking rowboat. Hypothermic, bleeding, and soaked in icy, bloody water, he is unable to speak, leaving Lane at a loss. What series of events brought him to this grisly fate?

Darling and Ames are quick to pick up the case, but leads are few until Angela's young son finds an unsettling clue on the beach--a bright red swastika lapel pin--that points to the National Unity Party of Canada. When the anonymous man succumbs to his injuries, Darling and Lane are thrown headlong into a murder investigation with ties to the old country.

Fans of Maisie Dobbs, Bess Crawford, and the ever-popular Kopp Sisters will be enchanted by Lane Winslow, a clever, no-nonsense sleuth based on the author's own mother, who was a wartime spy.

About this Author

ISBN: 9781771512893
Format: Trade paperback
Series: A Lane Winslow Mystery
Pages: 368
Publisher: TouchWood Editions
Published: 2018-09-25

Reviews

A Sorrowful Sanctuary (#5)

"An excellent mystery complemented by an appealingly down-to-earth look at life in postwar Western Canada." --Kirkus Reviews

"Whishaw's intricately plotted fifth Lane Winslow mystery opens with a bang. . . . Whishaw brings all the narrative threads together for a satisfying finale. Progress in the often-fraught personal relationship between Lane and Darling will please series fans." --Publishers Weekly

"Engrossing and deftly plotted, the latest Lane Winslow Mystery is sure to enthral readers. Filled with rich history, clever intrigue, and subtle romance, this series is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Susan Elia MacNeal." --Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby Mysteries and the Verity Kent Mysteries

"If you've yet to meet Lane Winslow, erstwhile spy and reluctant detective, you're in for a treat. Iona Whishaw writes with an eye for the telling detail; she conjures a vanished British Columbia out of thin air. Complex, suspenseful, and deeply felt, this is a smart series for the ages." --Francine Mathews, author of the Nantucket Mysteries

"There's no question you should read it--it's excellent . . . . While you could wait forever to read the series from the start (many books, little time, etc.), the taste offered by A Sorrowful Sanctuary of Lane Winslow and her companions pretty much guarantees you won't be waiting much longer to go back to the beginning and read everything about them." --Toronto Star

"Captures the tone and depth of a mystery entwined in a story about people taking painful steps forward with post-WWII life. Vivid plotting, inventive dialogue in a setting that puts you right in the action. This is one of the best series currently in print." --Don Graves, Canadian Mystery Reviews

"An enthralling mystery. The plot intrigues and resonates, sadly, with current events, while the deepening relationships and evolving characters of all the main players add to the appeal of this book . . . Recommended." --Historical Novel Society

Praise for the Lane Winslow Mysteries

A Match Made for Murder (#7) is winner of the 2021 Bony Blithe Light Mystery Award

"The 'find of the year', Iona Whishaw's Lane Winslow series is a real treat. Set after WWII, Lane has left England for Canada . . . settling in the small village of King's Cove. With a quaint cast of characters and the feel of Louise Penny's Three Pines, the independence and quick wit of Kerry Greenwood's Phryne Fisher and the intelligence of Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs, this mystery series has it all!" --Murder by the Book, Texas

"Relentlessly exciting from start to finish." --Kirkus Reviews

"Whishaw deftly intertwines plot and psychology, giving readers insight not only into Lane's crime-solving strategies, but the perspectives and lives of her neighbors. The series also follows Lane's inner journey, from complicated family history to postwar trauma to the beginning of new love. Well plotted and laced with dry wit, Lane's adventures are entirely satisfying summer reading." --Shelf Awareness

"Iona Whishaw is a writer to watch." --Globe and Mail

"There's no question you should read it--it's excellent." --Toronto Star

"Iona Whishaw's writing is worthy of taking its place alongside the works of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L Sayers. . . deftly crafted and briskly paced." --Fiona Valpy, author of The Dressmaker's Gift

"Another fantastic entry in the unique and compelling Lane Winslow series!" --Anna Lee Huber, author of the Lady Darby Mysteries

"I absolutely love the modern sensibility of these novels, of their feminism, sense of justice, their anti-racism, their progressiveness, which somehow never seems out of place in a tiny BC hamlet in 1948. . . But it's never preachy or pedantic, and Whishaw continues to use her murder mysteries to explore the limitations on women's lives and freedom that were contemporary to the period, and which are not yet so far away in the rear view mirror." --Kerry Clare, author of Mitzi Bytes and Waiting for a Star to Fall

"Complex, suspenseful, and deeply felt, this is a smart series for the ages." --Francine Mathews, author of the Nantucket Mysteries

"Exquisitely written, psychologically deft." --Linda Svendsen, author of Sussex Drive

"Iona Whishaw has again raised the bar . . . This is seriously good storytelling." --Don Graves, Canadian Mystery Reviews

"In the vein of Louise Penny . . . a compelling series that combines a cozy setting, spy intrigue storylines, and police procedural elements--not an easy task, but one that Whishaw pulls off." --Reviewing the Evidence

"The setting is fresh and the cast endearing." --CrimeReads

"An enthralling mystery." --Historical Novel Society

"This series . . . continues to get better and better." --Reviewing the Evidence

"A simply riveting read by a master of the genre." --Wisconsin Bookwatch

"A series that's guaranteed to please." --Mercer Island Books, Washington

"Full of history, mystery, and a glorious BC setting . . . a wonderful series." --Sleuth of Baker Street, Ontario

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.