Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2023-05-23) - pubdate: 05/23
turn:
pub date: 1684818000
today: 1713762000, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Six Ostriches

A Dr. Bannerman Vet Mystery

May 23, 2023 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9781770417250
$24.95
Reader Reward Price: $22.46 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

"Combines the soothing sleuthing of Murder, She Wrote with the humble charm of All Creatures Great and Small." -- Publishers Weekly STARRED review

For readers of The Thursday Murder Club comes a lighthearted mystery with an incredible sense of place

It's springtime in rural Manitoba, and the snow has finally left the exotic animal farm when an ostrich finds and swallows a shiny object. (Because this is what ostriches do.) Cue veterinarian and amateur sleuth Dr. Peter Bannerman, who surgically removes the object, which looks like an ancient Viking artifact. Soon after, people around are horrified by a series of animal mutilations. This sets Peter, and his talented sniffer dog, Pippin, on the hunt for answers. Peter begins to suspect a link between the Viking artifact, the mutilations, and a shadowy group of white supremacists on the internet.

Before long Peter and Pippin are in over their heads, and the only way for them to get out alive will be to unmask the mastermind before they end up among their victims.

About this Author

Philipp Schott was born in Germany and grew up in Saskatoon. He now lives in Winnipeg, where he practices veterinary medicine, writes, and shares a creaky old house on the river with his wife, two teenagers, three cats, and a dog. His first book, The Accidental Veterinarian, was a bestseller and was translated into five languages.

ISBN: 9781770417250
Format: Trade paperback
Series: A Dr. Bannerman Vet Mystery
Pages: 272
Publisher: ECW Press
Published: 2023-05-23

Reviews

"Schott's second mystery featuring gumshoe veterinarian Peter Bannerman (after 2022's Fifty-Four Pigs) combines the soothing sleuthing of Murder, She Wrote with the humble charm of All Creatures Great and Small." -- Publishers Weekly Starred Review

"Six Ostriches is both a good introduction to the series and a satisfying follow-up to its predecessor. Whether read individually or together, these books offer lovers of cozy mysteries and animal stories a heartwarming yet stimulating read, with a puzzle that hits the sweet spot between comfortably challenging and brain-buster." -- New York Journal of Books

"A compelling read, a fascinating community, and a knock-out lead character. More, please." -- First Clue blog

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.