Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2019-10-01) - pubdate: 2019-10-01
turn:
pub date: 1569906000
today: 1713502800, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Honey

A Novel

October 1, 2019 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9781770414976
$19.95
Reader Reward Price: $17.96 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

"Sinuous and captivating."-- Foreword Reviews

Shortlisted for the 2019 Staunch Book Prize

For readers of Sharp Objects comes a thrilling modern noir with a fresh narrative voice that explores coming of age, desire, and the lengths we'll go to for love

When 24-year-old Nicole Hewett's beloved childhood friend, Honey, returns to their small northern town after an unexplained six-year absence, Nicole realizes how her life had stalled without her. But the prodigal returns with troubling secrets, and before long Nicole is drawn into a high-stakes game. Honey is a thrilling, sensuous modern noir novel with a classic refrain: nothing is more dangerous than love.  

About this Author

Brenda Brooks has published two poetry collections and a novel, Gotta Find Me an Angel, a finalist for the Amazon.ca First Novel Award. She lives on Salt Spring Island in British Columbia.

ISBN: 9781770414976
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 232
Publisher: ECW Press
Published: 2019-10-01

Reviews

"Brooks has delivered a meaty, insightful, and at times funny story of star crossed lovers (think Rebel Without a Cause). Her writing is exceptional and hard-driving, and the story itself difficult to put down." -- Booklist

"Sinuous and captivating, Honey is a novel about friendship, obsession, and the troubling, even perilous ambiguities behind motivations and desires." -- Foreword Reviews

"An exploration of obsession and the ignition of latent desires . . . The characters may be rough around the edges, but their descriptions contain a sense of grace . . . [A] sumptuous slow burn of a novel." -- Shelf Awareness for Readers

"Honey shows that the classic noir fatalism you see in writers like David Goodis makes a lot of sense in a contemporary setting as well. With well-drawn characters and Brooks's ability to tease out an obsessiveness that leads to some truly bad decision-making, this is an impactful, spare read." -- Nathan Ripley, author of Find You in the Dark and Your Life Is Mine

"A darkly prismatic relationship between two complex and fascinating antiheroines. Honey showcases Brooks's intellect and wit and proves her incontestable talent for sultry, neo-noir storytelling." -- Pearl Luke, author of Burning Ground and Madame Zee

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.