Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations
• Canadian International Bookstore Day is coming up on April 24th! See details »

parsed(2021-03-30) - pubdate: 03/21
turn:
pub date: 1617080400
today: 1618376400, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

In Praise of Retreat

Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World

About this Item

ISBN: 9781770414730
format: Trade paperback
pages: 368
publisher: ECW Press
pub. date: 2021-03-30

Checking Availibility...

Price:
$24.95
Reader Reward Price: $22.46 info
Quantity:

Description

For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.

An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat -- where we go, why we're drawn, and how it's urgent

From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves -- and to their loftiest aspirations in life.

In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it's for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call or email ahead to have it set aside for you.