Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2020-10-27) - pubdate: 2020-10-27
turn:
pub date: 1603774800
today: 1660798800, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Thirst for Justice

A Novel

October 27, 2020 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9781770412408
$22.95
Reader Reward Price: $20.66 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

"Fast and fierce" - Kirkus Reviews

For readers of John Grisham and William Deverell comes a political thriller ripped from today's headlines. Lawyer and environmental activist David R. Boyd writes a riveting thriller about the psychological toll of a humanitarian crisis. Filled with tension and courtroom drama, Thirst for Justice will have you questioning what you believe about right versus wrong.

Michael MacDougall is a talented trauma surgeon whose life in Seattle is slowly unraveling. Frustrated as an ER doctor and with his marriage in trouble, he volunteers with a medical aid charity in the Congo. Disconsolate at the lives he cannot save in the desperate conditions of the region, he is shattered by a roadside confrontation with the mercenary Mai Mai that results in unthinkable losses.

Back home in Seattle, he is haunted by his experiences in Africa and what he sees as society's failure to provide humanitarian aid to those who most desperately need it. Locked in a downward spiral, he becomes obsessed with making his government listen to him and dreams up an act of terrorism to shock his nation awake.

Activist and lawyer David Boyd's debut novel is a taut political thriller that begs the question: how far is too far when you're seeking justice?

About this Author

David R. Boyd is currently the UN's Special Rapporteur on human rights and the environment and an associate professor of law, policy, and sustainability at the Institute for Resources, Environment, and Sustainability at the University of British Columbia. He is the award-winning author of eight books, including The Optimistic Environmentalist and The Rights of Nature. He lives on Pender Island, B.C.

ISBN: 9781770412408
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 320
Publisher: ECW Press
Published: 2020-10-27

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.