Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2023-04-14) - pubdate: 2023-04-14
turn:
pub date: 1681448400
today: 1675317600, pubdate > today = true

nyp: 1;

Breakwater

April 14, 2023 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9781642861259
$26.95
Reader Reward Price: $24.26 info
We will confirm the estimated shipping time with you when we process your order.
Checking Availibility...

This title will be released on Apr 14, 2023. Pre-order now.

Description

A novel about a marriage torn apart by a violent secret for fans of Lauren Groff's Fates and Furies

Emilia has it all: a rewarding career as a statistician, a wonderful husband, two healthy young sons, and a house in the countryside. But when a brief moment of panic triggers the memory of a traumatic experience from twelve years before, Emilia finds herself floating away from her average existence. The secret she's kept for so long refuses to stay hidden, and as Emilia's grip on reality loosens, heavy rains begin to fall and the river threatens to overflow the house. In this critically acclaimed novel, Schermer explores the impact of sexual violence, and whether or not it's possible to truly know another person. Breakwater is a haunting examination of memory and trauma, written in prose stunning in its frankness and precision.

About this Author

MARIJKE SCHERMER
Marijke Schermer is a novelist and playwright. Her stage work has been performed by several companies and translated into various languages. Her novel Breakwater was shortlisted for the ECI Literature Prize, has been sold to Spain, Switzerland, and Denmark, and is currently being made into a film. In 2019, her novel Love, If That's What It Is was published in Dutch (and subsequently in English by World Editions) and Schermer was hailed as "fast becoming one of the most interesting writers in the Netherlands." It was also shortlisted for the prestigious Libris Literature Prize 2020.

LIZ WATERS
After finishing her studies at the University of Manchester, Liz Waters worked for several years with English-language texts and at a literary agency in Amsterdam before becoming a full-time translator of literary fiction and non-fiction. Authors whose books she has translated include Lieve Joris, Jaap Scholten, Luuk van Middelaar, Annelies Verbeke, and Geert Mak.

ISBN: 9781642861259
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 192
Publisher: World Editions
Published: 2023-04-14

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.