Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations
parsed(2023-12-05) - pubdate: 12/23
turn:
pub date: 1701756000
today: 1718427600, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Medusa

A Novel

December 5, 2023 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9781639732685
$23.99
Reader Reward Price: $21.59 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

"A beautiful and profound retelling." - Madeline Miller, author of The Song of Achilles and Circe

"Gives the serpent-headed monster of myth a powerful and haunting humanity."- Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne and Elektra


From New York Times bestselling author Jessie Burton, a dazzling retelling of the Greek myth of Medusa, illuminating the woman behind the legend.

Exiled to a far-flung island after being abused by powerful Gods, Medusa has little company other than the snakes that adorn her head instead of hair. Haunted by the memories of a life before everything was stolen from her, she has no choice but to make peace with her present: she is Medusa the Monster. But when the charmed and beautiful Perseus arrives on the island, her lonely existence is blown open, unleashing desire, love--and betrayal.

For readers of Circe and Ariadne, Medusa is an astonishing reinvention that brings to vivid life a heroine history has set in stone.

About this Author

Jessie Burton's first novel, The Miniaturist, was a New York Times bestseller and was adapted into a PBS series, starring Anya Taylor-Joy. Jessie's second novel, The Muse, was also a #1 international bestseller. Jessie has written essays and reviews for The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. She lives in London.

ISBN: 9781639732685
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 208
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Published: 2023-12-05

Reviews

"A beautiful and profound retelling... a powerfully feminist, elegiac, and original twist on this old story. The book tackles pain and trauma without flinching, but its message is ultimately one of joy and hope." --Madeline Miller, author of THE SONG OF ACHILLES and CIRCE

"Medusa is absolutely stunning and easily my read of the year - sheer perfection from start to finish, both in words and art." --Catherine Doyle, author of THE STORM KEEPER series

"This book is a beautiful excavation, uncovering the girl beneath the gorgon, the power within the punished. Exquisitely told, Medusa stole my heart from its first fierce lines." --Mary Watson, author of THE WREN HUT

"A fiercely feminist undercurrent fuels Medusa's unflinching voice. . . . Medusa wrests control of her own story in this necessary reimagining of the Greek myth." --Shelf Awareness, starred review

"Burton tackles an old myth with unflinching honesty to reclaim Medusa's story as one of self-love and bravery. . . . With unforgettable imagery and a powerhouse woman at the helm of the tale, this revamped myth is one to get on your bookshelf." --School Library Journal, starred

"In this haunting reimagining of the myth of Medusa and Perseus . . . Burton's take on the traditional adversaries humanizes both characters, blurring boundaries between hero and monster." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Epic ... Readers who love nuanced retellings of myths will not want to miss it." --BookPage

"The Medusa myth is given new shading and depth in a feminist retelling that homes in on the heart of a young girl punished unfairly for being herself. Burton's prose [is] aquatic and mythical but not overwrought... A smart reimagining of an ancient tale that questions old tropes." --Kirkus Reviews

"Burton's feminist reboot . . . compassionately humanizes her protagonist . . . in unambiguous, occasionally poetic contemporary language as Medusa grows in self-confidence . . . this short novel of betrayal and destiny, which questions who the myth's real monsters are, grants Medusa a well-deserved, empowering finale." --Booklist

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.