Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2023-04-25) - pubdate: 04/23
turn:
pub date: 1682398800
today: 1675749600, pubdate > today = true

nyp: 1;

Cold Peace

Avoiding the New Cold War

April 25, 2023 | Hardcover
ISBN: 9781631496066
$40.00
Reader Reward Price: $36.00 info
We will confirm the estimated shipping time with you when we process your order.
Checking Availibility...

This title will be released on Apr 25, 2023. Pre-order now.

Description

An urgent examination of the world barreling toward a new Cold War.

With a historian's eye and a theorist's ingenuity, Michael Doyle, whose writings on liberal peace have revolutionized modern statesmanship, cogently assesses the tectonic shifts threatening a global order that has held for more than seventy years. As tensions among China, Russia, and the US escalate perilously toward a new Cold War, Doyle introduces a radical paradigm that will facilitate the international cooperation necessary to avert the global threats of our time.

Combining dramatic history with trenchant analysis and landmark theory, Doyle explores the impacts of cyberwarfare, foreign election meddling, and the unprecedented schism of modern politics on American foreign policy. He demonstrates that there can be no success in addressing climate change without China's cooperation, nor any hope of averting nuclear catastrophe without Russia's.

In the tradition of Gaddis' The Cold War and Clark's The Sleepwalkers, Cold Peace provides one of the most necessary analyses of global power in decades.

About this Author

Michael Doyle is a University Professor of Columbia University appointed in the School of International and Public Affairs, the Law School and the Political Science Department. He is the author of Ways of War and Peace.

ISBN: 9781631496066
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 288
Publisher: WW Norton
Published: 2023-04-25

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.