Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2017-05-20) - pubdate: 2017-05-20
turn:
pub date: 1495256400
today: 1718773200, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

The Slip

May 20, 2017 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9781459735750
$15.99
Reader Reward Price: $14.39 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

In this wickedly funny novel, one bad afternoon and two regrettable comments make the inimitable Philip Sharpe go viral for all the worst reasons.

Dr. Philip Sharpe, absent-minded professor extraordinaire, teaches philosophy at the University of Toronto and is one of Canada's most combative public intellectuals. But when a live TV debate with his fiercest rival goes horribly off the rails, an oblivious Philip says some things to her that he really shouldn't have.

As a clip of Philip's "slip" goes viral, it soon reveals all the cracks and fissures in his marriage with his young, stay-at-home wife, Grace. And while the two of them try to get on the same side of the situation, things quickly spiral out of control.

Can Philip make amends and save his marriage? Is there any hope of salvaging his reputation? To do so, he'll need to take a hard look at his on-air comments, and to conscript a band of misfits in a scheme to set things right.

About this Author

Mark Sampson is the author of the novels Off Book and Sad Peninsula, as well as a short-story collection, The Secrets Men Keep, and a poetry collection, Weathervane. He has published fiction and poetry in literary journals across Canada. Mark lives in Toronto.

ISBN: 9781459735750
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 280
Publisher: Dundurn Press
Published: 2017-05-20

Reviews

The Slip is a fresh, funny, and thought-provoking book. In the tradition of Amis, Richler, and Wodehouse, Mark Sampson satirizes everything from contemporary gender, marriage, and parenting issues, to academe, politics, mass and social media. It all adds up to an entertaining and "penetrating" read.

Riotous but astute.

A topical premise, one that ... Sampson pushes into some unexpected, and unexpectedly comic territory.

A worthy read ... compelling, human, relatable.

Entertainingly satiric ... The Slip offers comedy with bite. It also reserves ample space for heart.

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.