Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2017-03-07) - pubdate: 03/17
turn:
pub date: 1488866400
today: 1709445600, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Over and Under the Pond

(Environment and Ecology Books for Kids, Nature Books, Children's Oceanography Books, Animal Books for Kids)

March 7, 2017 | Children's hardcover
ISBN: 9781452145426
$26.99
Reader Reward Price: $24.29 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

A secret underwater world brought to life: This gorgeous companion to the acclaimed Over and Under the Snow and Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt is an excellent addition to any emerging reader's collection.

In Over and Under the Pond, readers will discover the plants and animals that make up the rich, interconnected ecosystem of a mountain pond. Over the pond, the water is a mirror, reflecting the sky. But under the water is a hidden world of creatures--minnows darting, beavers diving, and tadpoles growing.

These secrets and many others are waiting to be discovered over and under the pond in this sweet children's book from Kate Messner and Christopher Silas Neal, the latest in their beloved series that offers kids a peek into hidden ecosystems.

ENTERTAINING AND EDUCATIONAL: Stunning illustrations paired with an easy-to-follow storyline make this a great read for any early elementary school student, while a glossary of animals that live in, near, and around the mountain pond enriches the reading experience.

INSPIRES A LOVE A NATURE: Offering a look inside a beautiful underwater ecosystem, this gorgeously illustrated book encourages children to explore the world around them and appreciate the natural wonders they discover.
 
A FIVE-STAR FAVORITE OF READERS & REVIEWERS: "Playful and lovely to read aloud. Even older budding naturalists will find something to enjoy here."--School Library Journal; "A contemplative journey through an ecosystem."--USA Today

Perfect for:

  • A great read-aloud book for home or school
  • Parents looking for enchanting bedtime reads or nature books for kids
  • Fans of books like A Different Pond, An Egg Is Quiet, Because of an Acorn, and Over and Under the Rainforest and others in the Over and Under series
  • Any kid who loves picture books about science, nature, or animals

 
 

About this Author

Christopher Silas Neal is an award-winning illustrator. He is a regular contributor to the New York Times and shows his art at various galleries nationwide. He currently lives and works in Brooklyn and teaches at Pratt Institute.

Kate Messner is the award-winning author of more than a dozen other books for young readers, including Over and Under the Snow, Up in the Garden and Down in the DirtOver and Under the Snow, Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt, and How to Read a Story. When she's not writing, she loves spending time outside. Kate lives in New York with her family.

ISBN: 9781452145426
Format: Children's hardcover
Series: Over and Under
Pages: 48
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Published: 2017-03-07

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.