Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2021-01-26) - pubdate: 01/21
turn:
pub date: 1611640800
today: 1611554400, pubdate > today = true

nyp: 1;

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

A Novel

About this Item

ISBN: 9781443460415
format: Trade paperback
pages: 288
publisher: HarperCollins
pub. date: 2021-01-26

Checking Availibility...

This title will be released on
Jan 26, 2021. Pre-order now.

Price:
$23.99
Reader Reward Price: $21.59 info
Quantity:

Description

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, a debut novel, set in Barbados, about four people confronting violence and love in a beachfront "paradise"

In Baxter's Beach, Barbados, Lala's grandmother Wilma tells the story of the one-armed sister, a cautionary tale about what happens to girls who disobey their mothers and go into the Baxter's Tunnels. When she's grown-up, Lala lives on the beach with her husband, Adan, a petty criminal with endless charisma whose thwarted burglary of one of the beach mansions sets off a chain of events with terrible consequences. A gunshot no one was meant to witness. A new mother whose baby is found lifeless on the beach. A woman torn between two worlds and incapacitated by grief. And two men, driven into the Tunnels by desperation and greed, who attempt a crime that may cost them their freedom--and their lives.

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House is an intimate and visceral portrayal of interconnected lives across race and class in a rapidly changing resort town, told by an astonishing new author of literary fiction.

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call or email ahead to have it set aside for you.