Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations
parsed(2023-06-20) - pubdate: 06/23
turn:
pub date: 1687237200
today: 1718254800, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Family Style

Memories of an American from Vietnam

June 20, 2023 | Young adult softcover
ISBN: 9781250809728
$23.99
Reader Reward Price: $21.59 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

A moving young adult graphic memoir about a Vietnamese immigrant boy's search for belonging in America, perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and The Best We Could Do!

Thien's first memory isn't a sight or a sound. It's the sweetness of watermelon and the saltiness of fish. It's the taste of the foods he ate while adrift at sea as his family fled Vietnam.

After the Pham family arrives at a refugee camp in Thailand, they struggle to survive. Things don't get much easier once they resettle in California. And through each chapter of their lives, food takes on a new meaning. Strawberries come to signify struggle as Thien's mom and dad look for work. Potato chips are an indulgence that bring Thien so much joy that they become a necessity.

Behind every cut of steak and inside every croissant lies a story. And for Thien Pham, that story is about a search-- for belonging, for happiness, for the American dream.

About this Author

Thien Pham is a graphic novelist, comic artist, and educator based in Oakland, CA. He is the author and illustrator of the graphic novel Sumo and did the art for the middle-grade graphic novel Level Up, written by Gene Luen Yang. He is an ongoing comic contributor to EaterSF and as such eats-- a lot.

ISBN: 9781250809728
Format: Young adult softcover
Series: Family Style
Pages: 240
Publisher: First Second
Published: 2023-06-20

Reviews

A 2023 YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Finalists

Included in 2023 Best Book of the Year lists from NPR, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, School Library Journal, Shelf Awareness, and more!

"Packed with life lessons about family, friendship, assimilation and life in San Jose as a refugee, the graphic novel also serves as a love letter to his most memorable meals, from Southeast Asia to Northern California."--NPR

"Pham deftly draws us into stirring sense memories -- not only of place but also taste -- using an immersive, autumnal palette." --Washington Post

"Pham's extraordinary memoir just might be the toothsome gift we didn't know we needed."--Booklist, starred review

"Pham reflects the push-pull conflict of assimilation and cultural loss as explored through food in digitally illustrated panels portraying visual feasts and expressive emotion, making for a vivid and insightful telling that offers joy and hope amid the terror."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A delicious series of memories full of hope and human connections despite the hardships of immigrating to a new home."--School Library Journal, starred review

"...a moving, insightful graphic novel memoir that shares the Vietnamese refugee experience through food."--Shelf Awareness, starred review


"In this gorgeous young-adult graphic memoir, Pham tells the story of his family's resettlement in San Jose through his vivid, emotional food memories."--The San Francisco Chronicle

"A nuanced and hopeful graphic memoir depicting moments of hardship and joy with sincerity."--Horn Book

"[A] standout graphic novel"--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.