Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2022-07-12) - pubdate: 06/22
turn:
pub date: 1657602000
today: 1660366800, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Verissimus

The Stoic Philosophy of Marcus Aurelius

July 12, 2022 | Hardcover
ISBN: 9781250270955
$44.99
Reader Reward Price: $40.49 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

In the tradition of Logicomix, Donald J. Robertson's Verissimus is a riveting graphic novel on the life and stoic philosophy of Marcus Aurelius.

Marcus Aurelius was the last famous Stoic of antiquity but he was also to become the most powerful man in the known world - the Roman emperor. After losing his father at an early age, he threw himself into the study of philosophy. The closest thing history knew to a philosopher-king, yet constant warfare and an accursed plague almost brought his empire to its knees. "Life is warfare", he wrote, "and a sojourn in foreign land!" One thing alone could save him: philosophy, the love of wisdom!

The remarkable story of Marcus Aurelius' life and philosophical journey is brought to life by philosopher and psychotherapist Donald J. Robertson, in a sweeping historical epic of a graphic novel, based on a close study of the historical evidence, with the stunning full-color artwork of award-winning illustrator Zé Nuno Fraga.

About this Author

Donald J. Robertson is a cognitive-behavioral psychotherapist, trainer, and writer. He was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, and after living in England and working in London for many years, he emigrated to Canada where he now lives. Robertson has been researching Stoicism and applying it in his work for twenty years. He is one of the founding members of the non-profit organization Modern Stoicism.

Zé Nuno Fraga is an award-winning illustrator based in Portugal. He is the author and illustrator of Assemblywomen, a graphic novel based on the comedy of Aristophanes.

ISBN: 9781250270955
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 272
Publisher: St. Martin's Publishing Group
Published: 2022-07-12

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.