Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations
parsed(2020-09-01) - pubdate: 09/20
turn:
pub date: 1598936400
today: 1718427600, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Agent Zigzag

A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal

September 1, 2020 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9780771055850
$22.00
Reader Reward Price: $19.80 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

For readers of World War II history, espionage, fans of John le Carré and Alan Furst, and of Ben Macintyre's more recent books.

Eddie Chapman was a charming criminal, a con man, and a philanderer. He was also one of the most remarkable double agents Britain has ever produced. In 1941, after training as German spy in occupied France, Chapman was parachuted into Britain with a revolver, a wireless, and a cyanide pill, with orders from the Abwehr to blow up an airplane factory. Instead, he contacted M15, the British Secret service, and for the next four years, Chapman worked as a double agent, a lone British spy at the heart of the German Secret Service. Inside the traitor was a man of loyalty; inside the villain was a hero. The problem for Chapman, his spymasters, and his lovers was to know where one persona ended and the other began.

Based on recently declassified files, Agent Zigzag tells Chapman's full story for the first time. It's a gripping tale of loyalty, love, treachery, espionage, and the thin and shifting line between fidelity and betrayal.

About this Author

BEN MACINTYRE is a writer-at-large for The Times (U.K.) and the bestselling author of The Spy and the Traitor, A Spy Among Friends, Double Cross, Operation Mincemeat, and Rogue Heroes, among other books. Macintyre has also written and presented BBC documentaries of his work.

ISBN: 9780771055850
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 400
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Published: 2020-09-01

$13.99

Reviews

"Agent Zigzag is a true-history thriller, a real spy story superbly written. It belongs to my favorite genre: the 'Friday night book'--start it then, because you will want to stay with it all weekend." --Alan Furst

"The best book ever written." --Alex Beam, Boston Globe

"Meticulously crafted . . . an enormously fascinating book about an enormously fascinating man." --Washington Times

"Chapman's life had more hair's-breadth escapes than you'll find in ten Ian Fleming novels." --Details

"A revelation . . . a portrait of a man who double-crossed not only the Nazis, but just about every principle and person he encountered. In doing so, Eddie Chapman made all thriller writers' jobs harder, because this spy tale trumps any fiction." --Men's Journal

"This is the most amazing book, full of fascinating and hair-raising true-life adventures . . . and beautifully told. For anyone interested in the Second World War, spying, romance, skullduggery or the hidden chambers of the human mind, it would be impossible to recommend it too highly." --Mail on Sunday

"Macintyre tells Chapman's tale in a perfect pitch: with the Boys' Own thrills of Rider Haggard, the verve of George MacDonald Fraser and Carl Hiaasen's mordant humor. . . . Hugely entertaining." --The Observer

"If Ben Macintyre had presented this story as a novel, it would have been denounced as far too unlikely: yet every word of it is true. Moreover he has that enviable gift, the inability to write a dull sentence. An enthralling book." --The Spectator

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.