Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2024-05-14) - pubdate: 2024-05-14
turn:
pub date: 1715662800
today: 1721451600, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Invisible Son

May 14, 2024 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9780593482131
$17.99
Reader Reward Price: $16.19 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

From the award-winning and critically acclaimed author of This Is My America comes another thriller about a wrongly accused teen desperate to recclaim both his innocence and his first love.

Life can change in an instant. 
When you're wrongfully accused of a crime. 
When a virus shuts everything down. 
When the girl you love moves on. 

Andre Jackson is determined to reclaim his identity. But returning from juvie doesn't feel like coming home. His Portland, Oregon, neighborhood is rapidly gentrifying, and COVID-19 shuts down school before he can return. And Andre's suspicions about his arrest for a crime he didn't commit even taint his friendships. It's as if his whole life has been erased.

The one thing Andre is counting on is his relationship with the Whitaker kids--especially his longtime crush, Sierra. But Sierra's brother Eric is missing, and the facts don't add up as their adoptive parents fight to keep up the act that their racially diverse family is picture-perfect. If Andre can find Eric, he just might uncover the truth about his own arrest. But in a world where power is held by a few and Andre is nearly invisible, searching for the truth is a dangerous game. 

Critically acclaimed author Kim Johnson delivers another social justice thriller that shines a light on being young and Black in America--perfect for fans of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas and Dear Justyce by Nic Stone.

About this Author

KIM JOHNSON held leadership positions in social justice organizations as a teen. She's now a college administrator who maintains engagement throughout the community while also mentoring and supporting Black youth. This Is My America was her award-winning debut novel. She holds degrees from the University of Oregon and the University of Maryland, College Park. Kim lives in the Washington, DC with area her husband and two kids. Find her at KCJOHNSONWRITES.COM and follow her on Twitter and Instagram @kcjohnsonwrites.

ISBN: 9780593482131
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 432
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Published: 2024-05-14

Reviews

"Thrilling and poignant, Invisible Son will make your heart pound and break all at once." -Karen McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Chock full of mystery and suspense, Invisible Son kept me on the edge of my seat with every turn of the page. I laughed, worried, cheered, and was with Andre every step of the way! A gripping must-read. Bravo Kim Johnson, bravo!" -Tami Charles, New York Times bestselling author

? "A powerful, emotional, and insightful read." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

? "Smooth pacing and anticipatory tension imbue this hard-hitting mystery with a chilling atmosphere." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

? "Johnson's novel is thoughtful, passionate, and eloquent." --Booklist, starred review

"Gut-wrenching....The isolation of the pandemic and the intensity of the Black Lives Matter protests provide the backdrop to a riveting story line." --The Horn Book

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.