Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2023-10-17) - pubdate: 10/23
turn:
pub date: 1697518800
today: 1718946000, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

PAWS

Priya Puts Herself First

October 17, 2023 | Children's paperback
ISBN: 9780593351970
$17.99
Reader Reward Price: $16.19 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

The best dog-walkers in town are back in the third book of this heartwarming graphic novel series that is the Baby-Sitters Club for pets! Perfect for fans of Real Friends and Allergic!

The holidays have arrived for the PAWS team! And the girls are about to discover that not all surprises are necessarily good ones....Gabby's parents finally get her a cell phone for Christmas, but instead of only using it for emergencies, she soon gets swept up in posting about PAWS online. And when one of her cute doggo videos goes viral, she becomes obsessed with becoming internet famous.

Meanwhile, Priya receives some awful news: her family is being evicted! And although their new home is in a nice neighborhood ripe with possibilities, it's also all the way across town, so Priya is reluctant to give the change a chance. Instead, she resorts to long rides on the bus to her old school so she can continue being a part of PAWS with her friends.

But when a big storm hits, burying the city in snow, the girls find themselves on the verge of a doggy crisis. With Gabby distracted and Priya stretched thin, will they be able to overcome their challenges, or could this mean the end for PAWS?

About this Author

Nathan Fairbairn is a New York Times bestselling and Eisner-nominated creator who has worked as a colorist for such iconic characters as Spider-Man, Batman, Wonder Woman, Invincible, and Scott Pilgrim. He's also co-creator, writer, and colorist of the graphic novel Lake of Fire. He started writing PAWS, his middle grade debut, as a way to share his passion for comics and storytelling with his daughter, Lily. Nathan lives and works in Vancouver. You can follow him on Twitter and Instagram (@NathanFairbairn) and see more of his work at nathanfairbairn.com.

Michele Assarasakorn (also known as MSASSYK) is a colorist who has worked on comic book series such as Eisner-nominated Isola, Gotham Academy, and The Magnificent Ms. Marvel. Originally from Bangkok, Thailand, Michele now calls Vancouver home but also likes to travel the world working remotely as an artist. You can follow her on Twitter and Instagram (@Msassyk) and see more of her work at msassyk.com.

ISBN: 9780593351970
Format: Children's paperback
Series: PAWS
Pages: 176
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Published: 2023-10-17

Reviews

Praise for the PAWS series:

? "Reminiscent of Ann M. Martin's The Baby-Sitters Club, this series starter will be a surefire hit with Raina Telgemeier fans and any reader seeking a solid friendship story. Laugh-out-loud funny and full of heart." --School Library Journal, starred review

? "
Wholly relatable, perfectly capturing the angst and turmoil of transition. Much like Ann M. Martin's Baby Sitters Club, this series is poised to feature a different PAWS member in each volume; expect appeal to be similarly high. An honest, heartwarming look at friendship." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"The story is refreshingly inclusive in its depiction of its distinctive characters and their families, offering a reflection of the world that many readers will find familiar. With expressive faces and body language, the artwork poignantly emphasizes the ups and downs of the girls' experiences. This truly heartwarming story about friendship (and lots and lots of dogs) is a great choice for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale." --Booklist

"It's fantastic, it's cute, it's drawn and colored gorgeously, and I think it's going to win a lot of fans. PAWS is here to stay!" --Bryan Lee O'Malley, #1 New York Times bestseller and Eisner Award-winning creator of the Scott Pilgrim series
 
"PAWS is an adorable graphic novel filled with bubbly, beautiful artwork, sharp writing, heart and humor. It's the comic I wish I'd had when I was an animal-loving kid!" --Faith Erin Hicks, New York Times bestseller and Eisner Award-winning creator of the Nameless City series

"What's a bigger, tougher balance of fun and responsibility than animals? Friends, maybe. And I was really rooting for the three girls from PAWS as they struggled to navigate both. I liked this book a lot!" --Dana Simpson, New York Times bestselling creator of the Phoebe and Her Unicorn series

"PAWS is full of humor, personality, and wonderful characters. I couldn't put it down. You'll have a barking good time reading PAWS!" --Johnnie Christmas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Swim Team

"I love this story. Funny, aspirational, and heartfelt, I was hooked from page one and enjoyed every wonderfully illustrated panel!"--Kris Pearn, director and executive producer of The Willoughbys

"A really beautiful and engaging story. The best thing I can say about PAWS is that my daughter likes it better than anything I've ever done, and I'm not arguing the point." --Karl Kerschl, Eisner Award-winning creator

"[A] lively graphic novel. The characters feel bouncy and rounded. Animal lovers, burgeoning entrepreneurs, and fans of friendship sagas should look forward to planned future installments." --The Horn Book

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.