Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2022-11-01) - pubdate: 11/22
turn:
pub date: 1667278800
today: 1664168400, pubdate > today = true

nyp: 1;

The Rebel and the Kingdom

The True Story of the Secret Mission to Overthrow the North Korean Regime

November 1, 2022 | Hardcover
ISBN: 9780593240656
$39.00
Reader Reward Price: $35.10 info
We will confirm the estimated shipping time with you when we process your order.
Checking Availibility...

This title will be released on Nov 1, 2022. Pre-order now.

Description

How did an Ivy League activist become a global fugitive? The New York Times bestselling co-author of Billion Dollar Whale and Blood and Oil chronicles the heart-pounding tale of a self-taught operative his high-stakes attempt subvert the North Korean regime.

"Propulsive . . . Hope's account is both deeply reported and novelistic."--Ed Caesar, contributing staff writer for The New Yorker, author of The Moth and the Mountain

In the early 2000s, Adrian Hong was a soft-spoken Yale undergraduate looking for his place in the world. After reading a harrowing account of life inside North Korea, he realized he had found a cause so pressing that he was ready to devote his life to it.
 
What began as a trip down the safe and well-worn path of organizing soon morphed into something more dangerous. Hong journeyed to China, outwitting Chinese security services as he helped asylum-seeking North Koreans escape across the border. Meanwhile, Hong's secret organization, Cheollima Civil Defense (later renamed Free Joseon), began tracking the North Korean government's activities, and its volatile third-generation ruler, Kim Jong-un. Free Joseon targeted North Korean diplomats who might be persuaded to defect, while drawing up plans for a government-in-exile. After the shocking broad-daylight assassination in 2017 of Kim Jong-nam, the dictator's older brother, Hong, along with U.S. Marine veteran Christopher Ahn, helped ferry Kim Jong-nam's family to safety. Then Hong took the group a step further. He initiated a series of high-stakes direct actions, culminating in an armed raid at the North Korean embassy in Madrid--an act that would put Ahn behind bars and turn Hong into one of the world's most unlikely fugitives.
 
In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into the Wild, The Rebel and the Kingdom is an exhilarating account of a man who turns his back on the status quo--to instead live boldly by his principles. Acclaimed journalist and bestselling author Bradley Hope--who broke numerous details of Hong's operations in The Wall Street Journal--now reveals the full contours of this remarkable story of idealism and insanity, hubris and heroism, all set within the secret battle for the future of the world's most mysterious and unsettling nation.

About this Author

Bradley Hope, based in London, is the New York Times bestselling co-author of Billion Dollar Whale and Blood and Oil. He is a Pulitzer Prize finalist and Gerald Loeb Award winner. Formerly a reporter for The Wall Street Journal and a correspondent in the Middle East, Hope is co-founder of Project Brazen, a journalism studio and production company.

ISBN: 9780593240656
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 272
Publisher: Crown
Published: 2022-11-01

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.