Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2021-08-24) - pubdate: 08/21
turn:
pub date: 1629781200
today: 1664254800, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Probably Ruby

A Novel

August 24, 2021 | Hardcover
ISBN: 9780385696685
$29.95
Reader Reward Price: $26.96 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

For readers of Tommy Orange's There There and Terese Marie Mailhot's Heart Berries, Probably Ruby is an audacious, brave and beautiful book about an adopted woman's search for her Indigenous identity.

Relinquished as an infant, Ruby is placed in a foster home and finally adopted by Alice and Mel, a less-than-desirable couple who can't afford to complain too loudly about Ruby's Indigenous roots. But when her new parents' marriage falls apart, Ruby finds herself vulnerable and in compromising situations that lead her to search, in the unlikeliest of places, for her Indigenous identity.

Unabashedly self-destructing on alcohol, drugs and bad relationships, Ruby grapples with the meaning of the legacy left to her. In a series of expanding narratives, Ruby and the people connected to her tell their stories and help flesh out Ruby's history. Seeking understanding of how we come to know who we are, Probably Ruby explores how we find and invent ourselves in ways as peculiar and varied as the experiences of Indigenous adoptees themselves. Ruby's voice, her devastating honesty and tremendous laugh, will not soon be forgotten.

Probably Ruby is a perfectly crafted novel, with effortless, nearly imperceptible shifts in time and perspective, exquisitely chosen detail, natural dialogue and emotional control that results in breathtaking levels of tension and points of revelation.

About this Author

LISA BIRD-WILSON is a Saskatchewan Métis and nêhiyaw writer whose work appears in literary magazines and anthologies across Canada. She is a founding member and chair of the Saskatchewan Aboriginal Writers Circle Inc (SAWCI). Her fiction book, Just Pretending (Coteau Books), was a finalist for the national Danuta Gleed Literary Award and won four Saskatchewan Book Awards, including the 2014 Book of the Year. In 2019, it was selected to be the Saskatchewan One Book One Province campaign choice to promote reading across the province. She lives in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

ISBN: 9780385696685
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 272
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Published: 2021-08-24

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.