Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2023-06-06) - pubdate: 06/23
turn:
pub date: 1686027600
today: 1713243600, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Someday I'll Find You

June 6, 2023 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9780385690515
$25.00
Reader Reward Price: $22.50 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

This instant national bestseller, for readers of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls, is a dazzling novel about a spy and a pilot who fall in love but are wrenched apart during World War II, and must find their way back to each other.

When Billy Coke steps onto the streets of London one December evening in 1940, he has no idea he is stepping to his fate. As Hitler's bombers come close to burning the city down, Billy meets the woman who will change the course of his life: Ilse Magnusson, a musician from Norway, but also something more--a spy in training.

Escaping the Blitz for three days, she and Billy drive, quarrel, conceal, reveal . . . and fall finally, fully, in love.

Now they must part, each to fight the war their own way. Billy, a Canadian Spitfire pilot, to duel with the Luftwaffe over North Africa and the Med. Ilse to return to her conquered country, ingratiate herself with the Nazi elite--which includes her beloved father--and send vital intelligence back to Britain.

They know that the odds of both of them surviving are poor. All they can hope is that the other does survive--and that someday they find each other again.

From decadent pre-war Berlin to the atrocity at Guernica, from dogfights over Sicily to an Oslo ground under the German jackboot, through small victories and bitter losses, this is the story of a man and a woman at war. A tale of causes and compromises, heroism and betrayal. Of choices made, with consequences unforeseen. And finally, how sometimes . . . love can give you a second chance.

About this Author

C.C. HUMPHREYS is a playwright, an actor and an internationally bestselling author. His novel The French Executioner was runner-up for the CWA Steel Dagger for Thrillers, and Plague won Canada's Arthur Ellis Award for Crime Fiction. He lives on Salt Spring Island, British Columbia.

ISBN: 9780385690515
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 408
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Published: 2023-06-06

Reviews

AN INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"A fantastic double-whammy! An edge-of-your-seat war story
(well, two of them . . .) and a nuanced, intriguing romance. Totally immersive and impossible to put down." --Diana Gabaldon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Outlander

"A nuanced portrait, tenderly drawn, of two devoted characters who do their part in the fight against fascism, their abiding love for each other sustaining them." --The Toronto Star

"Unputdownable. . . . A beautifully written, riveting, deeply moving novel about a man and a woman at war. . . . Someday I'll Find You has a very cinematic feel to it, I thought, the dialogue pitch-perfect and propulsive. . . . [Humphreys is] one of the best writers of historical fiction in the business." --The Humm

"Poignant. . . . A thrilling spy and love story." --AQUA Magazine

"Someday I'll Find You is an absolutely wonderful novel, rich with fascinating historical gems, driven by fast-paced adventures and intrigue that held me spellbound the entire way through--and, oh, it is so romantic! A story of survival against all odds and of true love despite it all, and one I shall read again and again." --Genevieve Graham, bestselling author of Bluebird and The Forgotten Home Child

"Based on his own family's history, Humphreys's newest novel is a beautiful, morally complex, and achingly honest portrayal of people caught up in the violence and uncertainty of war while trying--and sometimes failing--to do their best. So much comes alive on the pages of Someday I'll Find You: riveting aerial battles over the Mediterranean, cloak-and-dagger espionage, underground shelters during the Blitz, and a Canadian pilot and Norwegian spy falling in love in the midst of it all. The reader will be fully swept away by the romance, moved by each character's profound plight, and transported back in time. Someday I'll Find You is, simply put, Canadian historical fiction at its best." --Natalie Jenner, bestselling author of Bloomsbury Girls and The Jane Austen Society

"C.C. Humphreys has written the book of his heart, and it's a triumph. A soaring mix of action and emotion, this powerful novel of love and war is simply unforgettable. A definite keeper." --Susanna Kearsley, New York Times bestselling author of The Vanished Days and A Desperate Fortune

"The perfect balance of romance and intrigue, Someday I'll Find You is everything I want out of a historical novel: erudite and expertly researched, with a winning, wonderful voice, and deft characterization. One of Canada's finest historical authors proves yet again he can weave in and out of any time period effortlessly, and this beautifully rendered WWII canvas is no exception. Destined to delight long-time fans, Someday I'll Find You will also have those uninitiated clamouring for this talented author's backlist." --Rachel McMillan, author of The Mozart Code and Operation Scarlet

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.