Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2016-04-26) - pubdate: 2016-04-26
turn:
pub date: 1461646800
today: 1664946000, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Villa America

April 26, 2016 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9780385677530
$21.00
Reader Reward Price: $18.90 info
We will confirm the estimated shipping time with you when we process your order.
Checking Availibility...

Description

A dazzling and spellbinding novel about art, love and marriage--in the tradition of The Paris Wife and Above All Things.
     Sara and Gerald Murphy's good looks, talent for living and perfectly successful marriage breed both devotion and jealousy amongst their friends. But when Owen Chambers, an American aviator, arrives in their lives, the deep emotional fissures in Sara and Gerald's marriage reveal themselves and their lives change forever.
    Villa America is a fictional imagining of the real lives of Americans Sara and Gerald Murphy who, in the heady years of 1920s France, presided over a group of expatriate writers, painters, singers and dancers--including Pablo Picasso and Cole Porter, Ernest Hemingway, John Dos Passos and F. Scott Fitzgerald. This dazzling cast of characters gathered together in the Murphy home in Cap d'Antibe, as both Sara and Gerald cast their elusive magic over all of them.
     Spanning 1890s New York, the battlefields of WWI, the birth of aviation, the artistic explosion of 1920s France, the Depression and the rise of fascism, Villa America charts the beautiful and tragic course of three intertwined lives to create a vivid portrait of a gilded age that couldn't last.

About this Author

LIZA KLAUSSMANN is the author of Tigers in Red Weather, a Sunday Times Bestseller for which she won a British National Book Award, the Elle Grand Prix for Fiction and was named Amazon UK's Rising Star of the Year in 2012. A former journalist, Klaussmann was born in Brooklyn, New York, and spent ten years living in Paris. She currently lives in North London. Villa America is her second novel.

ISBN: 9780385677530
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 432
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Published: 2016-04-26

$11.99

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.