Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2019-09-10) - pubdate: 2019-09-10
turn:
pub date: 1568091600
today: 1675836000, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Football For A Buck

The Crazy Rise and Crazier Demise of the USFL

September 10, 2019 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9780358118114
$22.99
Reader Reward Price: $20.69 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

From a multiple New York Times bestselling author, the rollicking, outrageous, you-can't-make-this-up story of the USFL
 
The United States Football League--known fondly to millions of sports fans as the USFL--was the last football league to not merely challenge the NFL, but cause its owners and executives to collectively shudder. It spanned three seasons, 1983-85. It secured multiple television deals. It drew millions of fans and launched the careers of legends. But then it died beneath the weight of a particularly egotistical and bombastic owner--a New York businessman named Donald J. Trump. The league featured as many as 18 teams, and included such superstars as Steve Young, Jim Kelly, Herschel Walker, Reggie White, Doug Flutie and Mike Rozier.
 
In Football for a Buck, the dogged reporter and biographer Jeff Pearlman draws on more than four hundred interviews to unearth all the salty, untold stories of one of the craziest sports entities to have ever captivated America. From 1980s drug excess to airplane brawls and player-coach punch outs, to backroom business deals, to some of the most enthralling and revolutionary football ever seen, Pearlman transports readers back in time to this crazy, boozy, audacious, unforgettable era of the game. He shows how fortunes were made and lost on the backs of professional athletes and also how, thirty years ago, Trump was a scoundrel and a spoiler.
 
For fans of Terry Pluto's Loose Balls or Jim Bouton's Ball Four and of course Pearlman's own stranger-than-fiction narratives, Football for a Buck is sports as high entertainment--and a cautionary tale of the dangers of ego and excess.

About this Author

JEFF PEARLMAN is the New York Times best-selling author of eight books, including Gunslinger,Showtime, Sweetness, Boys Will Be Boys, and The Bad Guys Won
 

ISBN: 9780358118114
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 400
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 2019-09-10

$31.99

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.