Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2010-08-24) - pubdate: 2010-08-24
turn:
pub date: 1282626000
today: 1674885600, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Empire of Illusion

The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle

August 24, 2010 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9780307398475
$19.95
Reader Reward Price: $17.96 info
We will confirm the estimated shipping time with you when we process your order.
Checking Availibility...

Description

Pulitzer prize-winner Chris Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate society that craves fantasy, ecstasy and illusion.

Chris Hedges argues that we now live in two societies: One, the minority, functions in a print-based, literate world, that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other, a growing majority, is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. In this "other society," serious film and theatre, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Hedges navigates this culture -- attending WWF contests as well as Ivy League graduation ceremonies -- exposing an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

About this Author

Chris Hedges, the author of the bestselling War Is a Force That Gives Us Meaning, is currently a senior fellow at The Nation Institute and the Anschutz Distinguished Fellow at Princeton University, and writes for many publications including Foreign Affairs, Harper's, The New York Review of Books, Granta and Mother Jones. He is also a columnist for Truthdig.com.

ISBN: 9780307398475
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 240
Publisher: Knopf Canada
Published: 2010-08-24

$13.99

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.