Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2022-09-27) - pubdate: 2022-09-27
turn:
pub date: 1664254800
today: 1713589200, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Play Like a Girl

September 27, 2022 | Trade paperback
ISBN: 9780063064683
$15.99
Reader Reward Price: $14.39 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

Debut author Misty Wilson chronicles her seventh-grade experience as the only girl on her town's football team in this empowering graphic memoir about teamwork, friendship, crushes, and touchdowns.

Misty never shies away from a challenge, on or off the field. So when the boys tell her she can't play football, there's only one thing to do: join their team and show them what she's got.

But the training is rougher than she thought--and so are the other guys, who aren't thrilled about having a girl on their team.

Middle school isn't so easy, either. Misty wants to fit in with the popular kids, but they think a girl playing football is "weird." Even her best friend doesn't get it.

Can Misty find a way to score points with her teammates, make new friends, and show everyone--including herself--what it means to play like a girl?

"I am a huge fan of Misty and her courageous journey of staying true to herself. Readers will love her!" --Terri Libenson, New York Times bestselling author of the Emmie & Friends series

"This is the book I wish I'd had as a kid. Misty's passion for football and her fight to play in a male-dominated sport while balancing friendship and crushes makes for a winning read!" --Dr. Jen Welter, first female NFL coach, first female running back in men's pro football, and founder of Grrridiron Girls

About this Author

ISBN: 9780063064683
Format: Trade paperback
Pages: 272
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 2022-09-27

Reviews

"Supported by David Wilson's expressive and detailed artwork (especially in his well-choreographed scenes of football plays), Misty's Play like a Girl will be a welcome choice for readers looking for graphic novels that defy and challenge traditional gender stereotypes." -- Booklist (starred review)

"[T]he book does an excellent job of folding the football story line (including plenty of play-by-play game-time action) into that of Misty's life struggles. Readers will cheer as Misty eventually makes new, true friends; wins the acceptance of (most of) her football teammates; begins to take on a more responsible role in her family; and comes to an empowering conclusion: 'I knew one thing for sure: I was done trying to be someone else.'" -- The Horn Book

"Seventh grader Misty tackles middle school politics in a heartening graphic memoir. Expressive and brightly colored art, reminiscent of Raina Telgemeier's, deftly captures early 2000s fashion and complicated football plays. Misty's busy blended family's dynamics are refreshing, and conversations surrounding social exclusion are sensitively rendered in this cathartic story of sports and identity." -- Publishers Weekly

"Middle school drama hits hard in this coming-of-age graphic memoir... [that] will appeal to fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale. A sincere, genuine, and uplifting book that affirms the importance of being true to yourself." -- Kirkus Reviews

"I am a huge fan of Misty and her courageous journey of staying true to herself. Readers will love her!" -- Terri Libenson, New York Times bestselling author of the Emmie & Friends series

"This is the book I wish I'd had as a kid. Misty's passion for football and her fight to play in a male-dominated sport while balancing friendship and crushes makes for a winning read!" -- Dr. Jen Welter, first female NFL coach, first female running back in men's pro football, and founder of Grrridiron Girls

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.