Skip to content
Account Login Winnipeg Toll-Free: 1-800-561-1833 SK Toll-Free: 1-877-506-7456 Contact & Locations

parsed(2021-05-04) - pubdate: 2021-05-04
turn:
pub date: 1620104400
today: 1713762000, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Glitter Gets Everywhere

May 4, 2021 | Hardcover
ISBN: 9780063034488
$21.00
Reader Reward Price: $18.90 info
Out of stock. Available to order from publisher. We will confirm shipping time when order has been placed.
Checking Availibility...

Description

This debut novel is a poignant exploration of grief, change, and hope, perfect for fans of Lisa Graff and Lindsey Stoddard.

After Kitty's mother dies on an inappropriately sunny Tuesday, all Kitty wants is for her life to go back to "normal"--whatever that will mean without her mum. Instead, her dad announces that he, Kitty, and her sister are moving from their home in London to New York City, and Kitty will need to say goodbye to the places and people that help keep her mother's memory alive.

New York is every bit as big and bustling as Kitty's heard, and as she adjusts to life there and befriends a blue-haired boy,  she starts to wonder if her memories of her mum don't need to stay in one place--if there's a way for them to be with Kitty every day, everywhere.

About this Author

ISBN: 9780063034488
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 320
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 2021-05-04

Reviews

"Joy, sorrow, humor, hope--this book has it all. I loved every page. Kitty and I would have been great friends." -- Erin Entrada Kelly, author of Newbery Medal winner Hello, Universe and Newbery Honor winner We Dream of Space

"Delightful and utterly compelling. Glitter Gets Everywhere sparkles like the gem that it is." -- Ann M. Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Rain, Reign

"Kitty Wentworth draws readers into her personal journey through grief with surprising honesty and abundant humor. A touching debut that brims with authenticity. Well done!" -- Leslie Connor, National Book Award Finalist, and author of A Home for Goddesses and Dogs

"A heartfelt novel that is sure to touch readers deeply, Glitter Gets Everywhere offers a gentle exploration of grief, sprinkled with moments of humor worthy of Louise Rennison. Kitty is an immensely loveable character, and middle graders will find her transatlantic adventures relatable, poignant and honest. I loved this book!" -- Ali Standish, award-winning author of The Ethan I Was Before

"This tender, witty debut made me cry, laugh, and think deeply. Glitter Gets Everywhere sparkles with insights about the beautiful, complicated ways people move forward after a heartbreaking loss. " -- Laurie Morrison, Author of Up for Air and Saint Ivy

"The well-drawn characters are distinctive individuals who see things from different points of view. The narrative engages readers with its well-paced story and articulate portrayal of emotions. Clark portrays Kitty and her circle of family and friends with perception, wit, and finesse in this absorbing first novel." -- Booklist (starred review)

"The heart-rending topic; the well-drawn family relationships; and Kitty's brave, honest, and often funny responses to her tragedy are the soul of this book. Heartfelt and comforting." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Clark offers a solid depiction of therapy as positive and sometimes necessary. Throughout, Kitty deals with her grief openly and honestly, doing her best to work through it. A touching story of grief and change." -- School Library Journal

"With a deeply introspective bent that delves into the darkness of grief and the light found on the other side, Clark's tender debut will strike a chord with readers who have experienced the loss of a loved one." -- Publishers Weekly

"Kitty is a perceptive narrator, keenly aware of the emotional currents around her. Clark's characters, both adult and child, are fully realized and slightly eccentric without being caricatures. The book takes a thoughtful approach to grief and recovery, exploring Kitty's emotional growth in a nondidactic way."
-- The Horn Book

If the product is in stock at the store nearest you, we suggest you call ahead to have it set aside for you, or you may place an order online and choose in-store pickup.