Winnipeg Kids & Teen Staff Picks

 

Winnipeg Kids and Teen Staff Picks

Picks are broken down into Kids and Teen recommendations.

Click here to check out our Saskatoon Staff Picks. 

Kids Picks

I am a Bunny
 by Ole Risom 

Cover image for I Am a Bunny

Chosen by Liza

"I am a Bunny is a classic Golden Book and is celebrating its 50th anniversary! It is a charming and thoughtful story about a bunny named Nicholas who takes us through the seasons of the year. The illustrations are vibrant and beautifully detailed and have retro appeal. No children's library would be complete without this treasured classic."

Little You
by Richard Van Camp  

Cover image for Little You

Chosen by Liza

"The author has written a sweet poem about the joys that a baby brings into the world. The bold and comtemporary illustrations are beautiful and simple and will capture the attention of little ones. This book is an excellent choice for new and expecting parents."


Dragon Loves Penguin
by Deb Gliori 

Cover image for Dragon Loves Penguin

Chosen by Megan

"A sweet tale about the trials and joys of being adopted into a loving family. A penguin who is adopted by a dragon without an egg struggles with being different, but her dragon mommy knows just how to care for her so she can grow up into a loving, capable, confident adult penguin who can care for her own adopted child. This book contains a very satisfying, heart-warming ending."


Lord and Lady Bunny - Almost Royalty
 Polly Horvath

Cover image for Lord and Lady Bunny - Almost Royalty!

Chosen by Megan

"A beautifully written sequel to Mr. and Mrs. Bunny Dectectives Extraordinaire. This time the bunnies and their human friends are venturing 'across the pond' to England, where Mrs. Bunny hopes to be named queen. The bunnies are kept very busy having lots of adventures and meeting lots of interesting characters, including some very snooty hedgehogs. We Canadians can also empathize with the human characters who are constantly mistaken for Americans on their European adventure!"


Children Who Loved Books
by Peter Carnavas

Cover image for Children Who Loved Books 

Chosen by Megan

"This is a story about a family that doesn't have much, but what they do have is books.  Unfortunately, their books are taking over their home! After getting rid of every last book, the family finds themselves drifting apart. This colorful story tells the tale of how you don't need a big house or lots of nice things to be happy. All you need is a loving family - and a good book."


How To
by Julie Morstad

Cover image for How To

Chosen by Devon

"A page excerpted might have read: "How to make a beautiful book", with an image of Julie Morstad at work in her studio. One of Canada's finest illustrators, to be sure. This book is one to sigh and swoon for."


Bonjour, Camille
by Felipe Cano 

Cover image for Bonjour Camille

Chosen by Devon

"Clad in her battledress (tutu + top hat), Camille is a wild thing on a mission. There are so many things to do! From jumping on the bed to yelling at the winter to GO AWAY, this boldly-illustrated book is a little bit mischievous and a lot of fun."


Phoebe and her Unicorn
by Dana Simpson

Cover image for Phoebe and Her Unicorn 

Chosen by Kathleen

"A very silly comic about a girl and her snobbish unicorn best friend. This comic is in the vein of Calvin and Hobbes, with short one-page scenes that tie loosely together to form a story. Snappy dialogue and clever one-liners will make you laugh out loud. Recommended for ages 8 and up."


Howl's Moving Castle
by Diana Wynne Jones

Cover image for Howl's Moving Castle 

Chosen by Kathleen

"This fantasy adventure was the inspiration for Hayao Miyazaki's animated film of the same name. Set in a magical world full of strange creatures and compelling characters, this book is hard to put down."


Jim Curious
by Mattias Picard 

Cover image for Jim Curious

Chosen by Kathleen 

"This wordless picture book tells the story of Jim, a diver who goes on an underwater adventure. The illustrations are in 3D, and the book comes with two pairs of 3D glasses so you can share with a friend. This book will enchant you as soon as you open it."


The Iron Trial
by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Cover image for Iron Trial

Chosen by Josef

"I am tempted to reveal nothing of the plot of this novel. Cassadra Clare and Holly Black have teamed up to throw out all ideas we have about how fantasy stories work. Set mostly at a school for wizards the main character doesn't want to be at, everything you know about chosen heroes, ancient villains, and loyal friends will be turned upside-down at least once. Fun to read and more fun to try (and fail) to predict!"


The Princess in Black
by Shannon Hale

Cover image for Princess in Black 

Chosen by Josef

"Tea Parties! Adventure! Pretty Gowns! Monsters! One princess with two very different parts to her life, Princess Magnolia is like no one you've read about before. A funny, charming, and exciting first chapter book."

A Brush Full of Colour:
The World of Ted
 Harrison
by Margriet Ruurs & Katherine Gibson 

Cover image for Brush Full of Colour

Chosen by Cathy

"A wonderful biography of Ted Harrison, who passed away January 16, 2015. The book contains many reproductions of his vibrant art, which show his love of the North. We learn about the spirit and passion of this artist, who is a national treasure."

Actual Size
by Steve Jenkins

Cover image for Actual Size

Chosen by Ashley

"How big is an ostrich's egg? How about the egg of a giant squid? This book shows just how big some of the amazing animals in our world really are! See how you measure up to some of the animal kingdom's giants."

El Deafo
by Cece Bell

Cover image for El Deafo

Chosen by Mariana

"Fitting in at school can be hard enough, and author Cece Bell had to do it while wearing a bulky Phonic Ear. People of all abilities will be cheering for Bell throughout this graphic memoir as she faces her classmates, neighbourhood kids, and other challenges."

Olivia 
by Ian Falconer

Cover image for Olivia

Chosen by Mariana 

"Meet Olivia, a cute little pig with tons of energy. She hates naptime; she's never sleepy anyway! She'd rather be trying on all her clothes, playing with her brother, or admiring Degas' ballerinas."

Where the Wild Things Are
by Maurice Sendak

Cover image for Where The Wild Things Are

Chosen by Mariana

"Maurice Sendak explores the child's imagination with his distinct illustrations in this book about Max, a rowdy boy who travels off to the place where wild things are."

 

 

Teen Picks

The Shadow Hero
by Gene Luen Yang

Cover image for Shadow Hero

Chosen by Mariana

"This graphic novel is based on a nearly-forgotten superhero originally created in the 1940s. Gene Luen Yang and Sonny Liew offer an explanation of the origins of the mysterious Green Turtle, a hero whose face was never seen in the original comics. Bonus: a reproduction of the very first Green Turtle comic is included at the  end of the book."

Through the Woods
by Emily Carroll

Cover image for Through the Woods

Chosen by Shanleigh

"This book perfectly captures that exciting and frightening feeling only a truly great ghost story can cause. Like a sudden splatter of deep red on an otherwise grey palette, this is one of those books that continues to unsettle the reader long after the lights have gone out."

Seraphina
by Rachel Hartman 

Cover image for Seraphina

Chosen by Shanleigh

"When I was younger, I scoured bookshelves and libraries for a complex fantasy novel with a truly sensible narrator that I could identify with and root for. Seraphina is the book the I've been waiting for. And bonus! It has DRAGONS."

We Were Liars
by E. Lockhart

Cover image for We Were Liars 

Chosen by Ashley

"An amazing read that will keep you guessing until the very end. The less you know about this book before reading, the better it is."

The Cure for Dreaming
by Cat Winters

Cover image for Cure for Dreaming 

Chosen by Ashley

"It's the early 1900s and everyone is either talking about womenpotentially getting the vote or the mysterious new hypnotist in town.What if you could see people for who they really were? You'll become enthralled in this supernatural adventure where dangeremerges from where you least expect it, and those you have to trust go against everything you feel is right."

The Knife of Never Letting Go
by Patrick Ness

Cover image for Knife Of Never Letting Go 

Chosen by Joan

"Todd runs from an abusive male community into a fierce, strong friendship with a lost girl who helps him to escape."

Jeremy Stone
by Lesley Choyce

Cover image for Jeremy Stone 

Chosen by Joan

"Between his new friend Caitlan and his dead grandfather, Jeremy has to negotiate life in the margin between the real world and the spirit world."

Where I Belong
by Tara White

Cover image for Where I Belong 

Chosen by Cam

"A beautiful, precise story of growing up and discovering one's culture set against the epochal backdrop of the OKA uprising in 1990, this is a fantastic novel of self-acceptance and unwavering commitment in the face of oppression. A slim book capable of starting big conversations."


All the Bright Places
by Jennifer Niven

 Cover image for All the Bright Places

Chosen by Margaret

"Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself and it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink."

Location & Hours

Contact Us 1.800.561.1833

Saskatoon 1.877.506.7456

Account Log In

Useful Info